UEFI W10 upgrade question...

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Taliseian, Jul 31, 2015.

1. Taliseian

Taliseian MDL Junior Member

Oct 13, 2013
    Greetings,

Going to work on a friends computer. Her desktop can boot UEFI, but was having issues with installing W7 Ultimate 64bit so it's currently in Legacy Mode - also was activated with Daz's Loader.

She'd like to upgrade to W10 Pro 64bit, and if possible re-enable UEFI.

I know to check Validation, do an upgrade, then I can clean install - that's not the question.

My question is, after the clean install is done can you just turn on Secure Boot and UEFI in bios and everything will be fine? I have little experience with UEFI and Secure Boot modes.

Thanks in advance....

T

2. fLOW.

fLOW. MDL Senior Member

Jul 28, 2009
    Yes, it'll be fine, the system will stay activated.

3. odiebugs1

odiebugs1 MDL Expert

Jul 30, 2015
    #3 odiebugs1, Jul 31, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2015
    You can't turn on UEFI, UEFI is the new BIOS. You need to install booting from a flash drive, DVD and choose UEFI so windows installs GPT and not MBR or the system uses legacy (BIOS) and not it's true UEFI mode.

So no you can't just turn them on. Daz will only work with MBR, and there's no big reason to use UEFI besides secure boot and having drives over 2TB.

You get Faster boot-up, CPU-independent architecture, CPU-independent drivers, Flexible pre-OS environment, including networking support, Modular design interface in UEFI. But it's not the greatest thing ever.

I would leave it, upgrade and if you really need too, reinstall in MBR so you stay activated. Unless something like loader comes out, there's only Enterprise and then you need to run KMS, which it can have kmspico which will keep activating every 180days.

4. genenioo

genenioo MDL Addicted

Oct 9, 2007
    #4 genenioo, Jul 31, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2015