UefiSeven: Easily boot Windows 7 on UEFI class 3 devices

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by manatails, Aug 3, 2020.

1. manatails

manatails MDL Novice

Jul 23, 2014
    #1 manatails, Aug 3, 2020
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2020
  2. cengizhan

cengizhan MDL Senior Member

Jul 29, 2009
    what happens if we replace this bootmgfw file in install.wim? also do we need to disable secure boot?

3. manatails

manatails MDL Novice

Jul 23, 2014
    Yes secure boot must be disabled

I have no experience with modifying install.wim file directly, but if you could edit it so that it installs bootmgfw.efi and bootmgfw.original.efi in the same folder it will also work the same way

4. shhnedo

shhnedo MDL Expert

Mar 20, 2011
    The point is to be able to boot the installed windows 7.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mbc004

mbc004 MDL Novice

Jul 12, 2020
    It's installed, but still runs in VGA mode, so you need to run UefiSeven.efi first to install VGA emulator. Theoretically you can remove VGA emulator if the graphic driver is installed and VGA driver is disabled in registry?

Also: do you still need to replace bootmgfw.efi with the one from Windows 10? I was under impression that the 0xc000000d error was unrelated to (lack of) VGA emulation.

6. manatails

manatails MDL Novice

Jul 23, 2014
    #6 manatails, Aug 6, 2020
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2020
    (OP)
    UefiSeven emulates a generic VGA device so you don't have to remove it, if you install a new graphics driver Windows will automatically prefer it over UefiSeven's generic device.
    If you boot to safe mode Windows will fall back to UefiSeven's generic device. You can remove UefiSeven if you want but then there is nothing Windows can fall back to, so you wouldn't be able to use safe mode anymore so better keep it unless there is something wrong with it.