Uninstall SP1 windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by chkontee, May 12, 2010.

  1. chkontee

    chkontee MDL Novice

    Jan 16, 2008
    40
    0
    0
  2. FreeStyler

    FreeStyler MDL Guru

    Jun 23, 2007
    3,503
    3,614
    120
    If it is a production box maybe you shouldn't have installed it in the first place ;)
     
  3. chkontee

    chkontee MDL Novice

    Jan 16, 2008
    40
    0
    0
    Is there other way to delete it?(Manual delete files or program)
     
  4. burfadel

    burfadel MDL EXE>MSP/CAB

    Aug 19, 2009
    2,628
    3,842
    90
    There is no way of manually deleting the service pack (no practical or even medium term way anyways), its the same with Vista etc. Once installed, it must be uninstalled which can only be done if the original Windows files have been backed up and everything is intact.

    Using a restoration point before SP1 may or may not work (haven't tried it) and quite honestly I wouldn't try! Restore points are only good for small stuffups, not a monumental one like trying to undo sp1! A restore point created just after SP1 was installed may help though, give that a try first and see if it comes back up under the add/remove programmes. Otherwise, a fresh install of Windows is basically what you need by the sounds of things - that is, formatting the disk and reinstalling everything, and copying your documents back over.
     
  5. Aly

    Aly MDL Member

    Feb 27, 2008
    133
    54
    10
    Learn to image you hard drive.
     
  6. ennio

    ennio Guest

    There is no way to do that. Also, what is with your date? Is this year 2553? :D Just kidding.
     
  7. acyuta

    acyuta MDL Expert

    Mar 8, 2010
    1,629
    367
    60
    #7 acyuta, May 12, 2010
    Last edited: May 12, 2010
    1. System restore definitely does not work 100% reliably for bigger files and broad footprint software. Does work for some but I would not personally rely on that. System image does work and should do a better job. I have tried it and it works but not sure if it works in the situation you are in.
    2. Instead of messing up your computer, why not try a fresh reinstall.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,574
    15,383
    340
    Perfect solution, go for it.....
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. chkontee

    chkontee MDL Novice

    Jan 16, 2008
    40
    0
    0
    I'm Thai.2553 is Buddhist era :).
    Thanks for any reply again.
     
  10. Smorgan

    Smorgan Glitcher

    Mar 25, 2010
    1,854
    1,034
    60
    Thats not a practical solution people...
    What you really want to do is a system RESTORE not a reinstall cause that would be a pain...
    Just type in system restore in the start menu and hit restore before the pre SP1 update that should solve your problem...
    The only issue you will have is backing up your files so that they don't get messed with...
    I concur thou there is no manual way in hell of undoing a service pack update cause it screws with the system files...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. kubato

    kubato MDL Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    138
    40
    10
    Everyone is correct there is no way without reinstall or a previous image. All is not lost though, you can use a program that allows you to move the programs, files settings and registry entries to another computer. It is not perfect but, works with some extra tweaking. I moved a full system to another new install and replaced all the software and it was allot of software and games. It will take a long time and unless you are experienced, a straight reinstall is you best option but, the software is called, Laplink "PC mover 5" either get off TPB or buy from laplink. I would test it first before buying though as I found it required more work after the move and was not perfect.
    Hope this helps with your needs
     
  12. spiralien

    spiralien MDL Senior Member

    Aug 25, 2009
    275
    510
    10
    #12 spiralien, May 13, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. ennio

    ennio Guest

    OK, so you are 543 years in the future. So, are there flying cars there? :D
     
  14. chkontee

    chkontee MDL Novice

    Jan 16, 2008
    40
    0
    0
    #14 chkontee, May 13, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  15. spiralien

    spiralien MDL Senior Member

    Aug 25, 2009
    275
    510
    10
    #15 spiralien, May 13, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Hello,
    Have you try to replace 16556 by 16537 in the command line
    Code:
    Dism /online /remove-Package /PackageName:Package_for_KB976932~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~6.1.0.16537
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. spiralien

    spiralien MDL Senior Member

    Aug 25, 2009
    275
    510
    10
    Sorry. I think also.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. MasterDisaster

    MasterDisaster MDL Expert

    Aug 29, 2009
    1,256
    670
    60
    #18 MasterDisaster, May 13, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Try the following command to get the exact package name
    Code:
    dism /online /Get-Packages|Findstr KB976932
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. ennio

    ennio Guest

    Don't waste your time with it. Even if you remove beta SP1, you won't have a stable system. Do the format.