updates won't install and I get watermark.

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by MarkJohnson, Oct 27, 2012.

  1. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson MDL Junior Member

    Jan 30, 2010
    93
    8
    0
    I just installed my Win 8 pro I purchased for $15 and it boots straight to desktop. No metro, but I don't want it.

    The background has a water mark for Windows 8 Pro, Build 9200"

    I've ran windows update 3 times and it won't install the updates except defender.

    4 updates fail:
    Explorer Flash Player (KB2758994)
    MS Camera Codec Pack (KB2712101)
    Win 8 (KB2756872)
    Win 8 (KB2768703)

    -=Mark=-
     
  2. sukinsin88

    sukinsin88 MDL Addicted

    Oct 17, 2012
    714
    43
    30
    activate windows lol
     
  3. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,143
    240
    I bet, everything runs fine, when you remove that tool that skips Start screen. MS wants you to use Start screen and honestly, this one more click to get to the desktop is not that much work isn't it?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson MDL Junior Member

    Jan 30, 2010
    93
    8
    0
    I haven't installed any tool? It goes straight to desktop out of the box.

    and yes, I find it extremely annoying for extra clicks to desktop, and every other task needing at least one more click, not to mention I have to run the mouse all over the screen constantly.

    I wouldn't even install this OS if I did have to, but I maintain all of my friend's and family's computers.

    also, how you I shut down windows on my touchscreen AIO computer. I am a keyboard and mouse short and I can't get the side menu to show up as there is no mouse to scroll to the corner and this swipe feature doesn't bring it up either.

    Also, I thought win8 annoyingly preregistered on setup? Do I need to register twice. I seen no place to register and the system menu said it was registered yesterday. Haven't gotten to it today yet. Too frustrated with it to mess with it. I don't need headaches this early in the morning. lol

    Is there a way to stop the registration on install? I do a lot of test installs sometimes before final activation. I usually wait 30-days to make sure things are running 100% the way I want before activating. I hate calling MS for reactivation, they always treat me like a pirate.

    -=Mark=-
     
  5. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,143
    240
    In short: There is no unmodified W8 which starts to desktop out of the box. period
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Shenj

    Shenj MDL Expert

    Aug 12, 2010
    1,557
    652
    60
    #6 Shenj, Oct 27, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. MarkJohnson

    MarkJohnson MDL Junior Member

    Jan 30, 2010
    93
    8
    0
    #7 MarkJohnson, Oct 27, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)