Upgrade Notice

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by SightUp, Jun 5, 2015.

  1. SightUp

    SightUp MDL Senior Member

    Aug 17, 2010
    255
    12
    10
    I didn't get an upgrade notice, reserve, whatever it is. But everyone who I speak to has gotten theirs. Is there a way I can force Microsoft to see my computer to give me a notice?
     
  2. FaiKee

    FaiKee Misinformation spreader

    Jul 24, 2009
    4,305
    5,797
    150
  3. SightUp

    SightUp MDL Senior Member

    Aug 17, 2010
    255
    12
    10
    I need some help.

    I am pretty sure I have to the update KB3035583 installed.

    2.PNG

    But, just for safe measure, I attempted to update it by downloading it. When I attempt to install it via the exe, I get this message.

    1.PNG

    When I go to Windows Update, I do not see what you do. I see this.

    22.PNG

    What should I do?
     
  4. SightUp

    SightUp MDL Senior Member

    Aug 17, 2010
    255
    12
    10
    Oh! However, I do have the folder that is mentioned earlier.

    Capt2222ure.PNG

    But when I click on GWX, nothing happens.
     
  5. SightUp

    SightUp MDL Senior Member

    Aug 17, 2010
    255
    12
    10
    I am running the thing now. Says it can take 10-30 min so I will be back tomorrow morning if it doesn't work!
     
  6. SightUp

    SightUp MDL Senior Member

    Aug 17, 2010
    255
    12
    10
    So it's still running as you can see. But I also saw the last option too on the bottom. It says GWX is running.

    124242.png

    I don't know what to do. :confused:
     
  7. SightUp

    SightUp MDL Senior Member

    Aug 17, 2010
    255
    12
    10
    Yeah. That is what I have been doing.

    I have been getting this though:

     
  8. kavisura9999

    kavisura9999 MDL Novice

    May 20, 2014
    4
    0
    0
    move the file to C:\Windows\Temp and run as administrator that works for me and just got windows 10 reserve icon
     
  9. SightUp

    SightUp MDL Senior Member

    Aug 17, 2010
    255
    12
    10
    Which file?
     
  10. kavisura9999

    kavisura9999 MDL Novice

    May 20, 2014
    4
    0
    0
    reg add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\AppCompatFlags\Appraiser" /v UtcOnetimeSend /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f

    schtasks /run /TN "\Microsoft\Windows\Application Experience\Microsoft Compatibility Appraiser"

    :CompatCheckRunning

    schtasks /query /TN "\Microsoft\Windows\Application Experience\Microsoft Compatibility Appraiser" | findstr Ready >nul

    if NOT "%errorlevel%" == "0" ping localhost >nul &goto :CompatCheckRunning

    schtasks /run /TN "\Microsoft\Windows\Setup\gwx\refreshgwxconfig




    save this above file in notepad as mentioned below

    Click File, and then Save As

    In the File name box, change the file name to ReserveWin10.cmd

    Then click the dropdown next to Save as type, and select All files (*.*)

    Select the folder you would like to save the file to. For this example, let’s choose to save the file to the C:/Temp folder. Then click Save.

    Open an elevated command prompt. (From the Start screen or Start menu, type Command Prompt in the search box, and then in the list of results, right-click Command Prompt, and select Run as administrator.)

    Finally, run the file from the location you saved to in Step 6. In this example, you would type the following in the Command Prompt window and hit Enter:

    Run C:/Temp/ReserveWin10.cmd
     
  11. SightUp

    SightUp MDL Senior Member

    Aug 17, 2010
    255
    12
    10
    I am getting the same message as I did before on the Page 1. :(
     
  12. kavisura9999

    kavisura9999 MDL Novice

    May 20, 2014
    4
    0
    0
    check the path C:\Windows\System32\GWX

    make sure all windows updates are updated
     
  13. SightUp

    SightUp MDL Senior Member

    Aug 17, 2010
    255
    12
    10
    Sorry to say it did not work.
     
  14. potjevleesch

    potjevleesch MDL Addicted

    Aug 7, 2010
    813
    69
    30
    strange thing here: I run 10130, activated with my legit W 8.1 seriel, it gav me this offer which I accepted and was acknowledged by the system... what does it implies ?
     
  15. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,814
    1,997
    210
    I had the same problem that those were not working on my Desktop with Windows 8.1 Pro legit! So, finally I used the ReserveWindows10.cmd command and that worked just fine.

    Maybe your Windows isn't 100% legit or not a plain Windows 8.1 with all Updates done or Windows 7 with SP1?! Check that from Command Prompt (CMD) using the command: slmgr /dlv and see what that will tell you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,814
    1,997
    210
    Latest at the day you will try to download and update to the RTM you'll see it works or not! You'll still have time to install Windows 8.1 again, do all Updates of it and update to Windows 10 RTM if you 10130 Update will get rejected!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,895
    1,780
    180
    #20 sebus, Jun 5, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017