Use MS KMS Tool "VAMT" In Case of Locate Server Error

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by FaiKee, Aug 7, 2012.

  1. FaiKee

    FaiKee Misinformation spreader

    Jul 24, 2009
    4,305
    5,796
    150
  2. spond21

    spond21 MDL Novice

    Apr 3, 2010
    3
    0
    0
    Screenshot (1).jpg

    Still doesn't work FaiKee... Any other alternatives, or workarounds?
     
  3. dickenz

    dickenz MDL Novice

    Aug 7, 2012
    1
    0
    0
    It won't work as the KMS server located at kms-c.no-ip.org:1688 is down. Nothing connecting to this address will work at present unless the Russian's decide to bring their KMS server back up.
     
  4. FaiKee

    FaiKee Misinformation spreader

    Jul 24, 2009
    4,305
    5,796
    150
    It worked when the PCBeta people met the "unable to contact server" error, unfortunately, like dickenz says, the server has been shutdown. o_O
     
  5. apex2000

    apex2000 MDL Senior Member

    May 6, 2007
    252
    283
    10

    Or they are using a different port number. Anyone care to guess which? :eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. McRip

    McRip MDL Addicted

    Aug 15, 2011
    935
    3,416
    30
    The server is down. It has been shut down.
     
  7. DJxSpeedy

    DJxSpeedy MDL Senior Member

    Jan 7, 2008
    277
    82
    10
    so how i can deactivate it and go back to notification mode if i have activated with this server ??
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,078
    60
    Why on earth would you want to deactivate it if you were one of the lucky few who was activated during the brief window it was available ?
     
  9. DJxSpeedy

    DJxSpeedy MDL Senior Member

    Jan 7, 2008
    277
    82
    10
    i mean after that 180 day time.. when its not released (buyable) then
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,078
    60
    Gotcha, you'll be able to use slmgr.vbs to change the key in the future. Should start selling in about 75 days or so. (oct 26th I think)
     
  11. DJxSpeedy

    DJxSpeedy MDL Senior Member

    Jan 7, 2008
    277
    82
    10
    ok man thx for your answers ;) helped me much
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Myrrh

    Myrrh MDL Expert

    Nov 26, 2008
    1,387
    491
    60
    Link is to a two-year-old version of VAMT. Will be glad to know when the ADK, VAMT and RSAT for Win8 RTM are leaked.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,078
    60
    #13 Mr Jinje, Aug 7, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  14. user_hidden

    user_hidden MDL Expert

    Dec 18, 2007
    1,022
    955
    60
    VAMT 3.0 is part of the ADK for Win8. VAMT 3 will only run on WinVista and above.
    VAMT 1 + 2 were able to run on WinXP and above.


    I presume the ADK will be available around Aug 15 along with the rest on MSDN/Technet.
     
  15. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,213
    14,772
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. 100

    100 MDL Expert

    May 17, 2011
    1,346
    1,539
    60
    #17 100, Aug 7, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Sort of. You can use the web installer for downloading all the files locally for subsequent offline setup:
    Code:
    adksetup.exe /layout
     
  17. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,213
    14,772
    340
    #18 Tito, Aug 7, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Well, simply running the setup will also prompt for this (download the installation files for another pc).

    :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. Mr Jinje

    Mr Jinje MDL Expert

    Aug 19, 2009
    1,773
    1,078
    60
    #19 Mr Jinje, Aug 7, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Learn something new every day. Bet that works on all kinds of MS downloads.
     
  19. 100

    100 MDL Expert

    May 17, 2011
    1,346
    1,539
    60
    Oh... haha. I didn't expect it to, so I only ever launched it with /? to try to find an offline download. :rolleyes:

    Yup, I found that while trying to find a download for an offline installation of VS 2012 RC. Also works for for all the other kits (SDK/WDK, etc.).