Using my new BT YouView box with an Ethernet cable??

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by TomTomok, Mar 24, 2016.

1. TomTomok

TomTomok MDL Novice

Mar 4, 2016
    Hi Everyone (I'm a newbie here).

My ISP is VirginMedia, my router is the Super Hub 2 and my speed is 70Mbps.
    I've set up my YouView box and connected it to my router with the Ethernet cable that came supplied with it (it's 10m in length, thin flat and white).
    I haven't a clue what CAT it is......5/5e/6...etc

With the players on demand, programs load up fairly quickly, but not actually knowing exactly what CAT cable I'm using.
    Would you know, what CAT the cable is that comes provided with the YouView box.

That being the case, is it really worth me getting a faster cable....like a CAT 6/6a/7......or would these be to powerful, or not even work with my hardware.
    Totally ignorant here, I would be most grateful for all the help, assistance and feedback you can give me.
    Many thanks in advance.

2. pisthai

pisthai Imperfect Human

Jul 29, 2009
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. pisthai

pisthai Imperfect Human

Jul 29, 2009
    I would use at least a Shielded CAT 5e Ethernet cable! Normally CAT5e is much enough for speeds up to and even above 100Mbps, special if you use not above 100feet in lenght!

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. TomTomok

TomTomok MDL Novice

Mar 4, 2016
    Thanks for your reply "pisthai"........unfortunately there is no "spec" printed on the cable....but the plastic bag it came in simply said "10m STP cable"......thinking the STP stands for Shielded Twisted Pair......now thinking this corresponds with a Cat 5e Shielded Twisted Pair Ethernet cable........find it reassuring that a Cat 5e is ok.

What would happen if I got a Cat 6a FTP cable......would it speed up BBC iPlayer, ITV Player, 4OD,etc......so that I would notice??

5. pisthai