Using windows server as a desktop, where to start? which version to use

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by jineso, Jan 2, 2023.

1. jineso

jineso MDL Member

Oct 8, 2021
    Hi,
    I have an old laptop from 2013, and I had some driver issues preventing enabling the Core Isolation & Memory Integrity.
    I've posted about it here:
    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/1770904/
    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/posts/1771130/
    One of the suggestions was to use a windows server as a desktop for the laptop.
    So, I've googled but I've never used it before, so I thought to ask about it.
    Where to start?
    Which version to use?
    Is it really deserved?
    Thanks

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. pm67310

pm67310 MDL Guru

Sep 6, 2011
    use ltsc 2021 or ltsc 2019

if you need windows store

open cmd prompt admin right

write wsreset -i

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. vladnil

vladnil MDL Senior Member

Jan 19, 2019
    Set up a server?
    On a laptop?
    Are you serious?
    Then forget about wifi and bluetooth drivers, but they are not installed, this is a known problem for a long time!

4. jineso

jineso MDL Member

Oct 8, 2021
    Thanks a lot for your valuable time reading and replaying my thread.
    you mean any software from store could be installed?

It is not my idea, and I never used any server version before, so I thought to ask.

5. pm67310

pm67310 MDL Guru

Sep 6, 2011
    you can install any store apps on ltsc

user server are not supported by driver from consumer

6. mrbbq

mrbbq MDL Addicted

Jul 18, 2015
    People making "stick to consumer / legal / supported versions " comments on MDL... :rolleyes:

7. mrbbq

mrbbq MDL Addicted

Jul 18, 2015