Video buffering problem with most sites? Help Needed!

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by supashaka, May 5, 2018.

1. supashaka

supashaka MDL Junior Member

Mar 19, 2015
    #1 supashaka, May 5, 2018
    Last edited: May 5, 2018
  2. Canes

Canes MDL Novice

Mar 24, 2018
    Probably not related but I've noticed increased buffering after I've switched to Google's Public DNS. Maybe you've a VPN or proxy in-place?

3. supashaka

Mar 19, 2015
    Nope never used either of them before.

4. Canes

Canes MDL Novice

Mar 24, 2018
    I'm no expert, but it could be a hundred different causes to this.
    The first thing you should do is try and isolate if it's indeed because of your Windows/System and not an outside source. Try on a different computer, or a phone/tablet, see if you get buffering problems.
    If no other device available, you could try a Linux live distro (no need to install) off an USB stick, etc.
    Try unplugging your router for 3-5 minutes, sometimes this helps.
    Also, if you're in the US, don't you guys have net-neutrality problems, maybe they're capping your speed? A bit extreme (and probably paranoid), but you never know.

5. grrgrr

grrgrr MDL Member

Oct 4, 2017
    I suggest a few things to check

1. Continuous ping your Router/Gateway, look for packet drops
    2. Continuous ping to Google.com, look for packet drops
    3. Check same video on another device
    4. Check same video using a VPN

6. supashaka

Mar 19, 2015
    I'm not familiar with these things to be honest, what do you mean specifically when you say ping? And how would it help me to find packet drops (via winMTR?)? I know when a site isn't running video well since it has buffering issues, so I don't understand how it would help?

The issue is only on my PC, there are no issues on laptop/tablets. I have started using my Playstation 3 for netflix without any problems at all. Netflix on my PC struggles with picture quality.