Vista and 7 in one disc

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by mbg19, Sep 3, 2009.

  1. mbg19

    mbg19 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    54
    1
    0
    #1 mbg19, Sep 3, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2009
    I have a Vista iso and windows 7, is it possible to like have them both on a dual layer disc? so when the disc boots it has the option to which installation to load? Thanks..
     
  2. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,877
    2,035
    210
    You may can try that on an 8 GB USB Stick.:cool:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mbg19

    mbg19 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    54
    1
    0
    Ah i guess,but im more interested having this on a disc because it would be more portable.
     
  4. naseap

    naseap MDL Senior Member

    Jul 25, 2009
    489
    123
    10
    #4 naseap, Sep 3, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2009
    How is having it on a disc more portable than a USB stick? No need to worry about scratches on a USB stick.
     
  5. Reign_Of_Freedom

    Reign_Of_Freedom MDL Expert

    Aug 1, 2009
    1,263
    453
    60
    Lol can't get more portable then a USB stick not to mention it's SMALLER then a disc.
     
  6. mbg19

    mbg19 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    54
    1
    0
    Lol but i only have one flash drive why would i use that flash drive just to have this? and i have a disc thingy lol
     
  7. blueis300

    blueis300 MDL Novice

    Aug 12, 2009
    28
    3
    0
    For as cheap as flash drives are now just buy another one.
     
  8. mbg19

    mbg19 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    54
    1
    0
    -__- okay ill try with a flash drive.but it is still possible to do it on disc? and does anyone have a link or something to do it with a flashdrive?
     
  9. Xalies

    Xalies MDL Novice

    Sep 3, 2009
    1
    0
    0
    Yes you can.... you need to export both the install.wim file to the one using Windows AIK
     
  10. mbg19

    mbg19 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    54
    1
    0
    Is there any info or something?? or ima have to research this?
     
  11. muiz

    muiz MDL Member

    Dec 8, 2007
    144
    21
    10
    That wont work, cause you cant install Vista with a Windows 7 boot.wim
    And you cant install Windows 7 with a Vista boot.wim
     
  12. mbg19

    mbg19 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    54
    1
    0
    Ahhh damn... this should be possible it doesnt sound that difficult.
     
  13. muiz

    muiz MDL Member

    Dec 8, 2007
    144
    21
    10
    Maybe if you build your own boot menu from where you can choose.
     
  14. TOMBO COMBO

    TOMBO COMBO MDL Junior Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    71
    1
    0
    You would be better off using a vista and win 7 image install.wim of both as vista.wim and win7.wim. Make a winpe 2.0 disk with imageX and the files. You need the WAIK toolkit to create a winpe2.0 disk
     
  15. mbg19

    mbg19 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    54
    1
    0
    Could anyone give me a little more info? i already started downloading the Windows AIK for windows 7,its downloading slow so while thats downloading i wanna see what do i have to do im trying to look for something in google but i dont even know what to search =/
     
  16. TOMBO COMBO

    TOMBO COMBO MDL Junior Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    71
    1
    0
    Really for all the trouble just making 2 separate disks is the path of least rsistance.
     
  17. mbg19

    mbg19 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    54
    1
    0
    because all of this are for educational purposes i would like to know how can i do this..after all all of this should be for educational purposes :p
     
  18. FireSokar

    FireSokar MDL Member

    May 1, 2009
    116
    0
    10
    #18 FireSokar, Sep 4, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2009
    easiest way is making 2 folders one for vista install one for windows 7 copy all files needed from each copy to the folders. Use a custom boot loader / batch script to select what version or. Make a PE 3.0 environment (2.0 cant install 7) Add a batch to startnet.cmd to launch either x:\Vista\Setup.exe or x:\Win7\Setup.exe or w/e the heck you want to name it. As far as quickest and Nicest imho would be using the custom made bootmgr, you can make one similar to dual booting vista and 7 google up some bootmgr commands and you can make one your self. Sorry about the dragging on / crappy grammer its late when I read your response and figured you needed a lil more indepth then a 10 second answer like you have been getting.

    BTW: What I do is just make it easy and have 2 Thumb Drives, one for Vista SP2 and one for Windows 7. Also I carry a Mini DVD-R with a basic copy of PE 3.0 on it to boot systems that dont support USB Booting. With IT I can simply point it to the setup.exe off the thumb drive.
    Also one last option would be to use a Dual Sided Disc instead of dual layer. You could use a double sided Mini DVD-R if you stripped down your install.wim files to include only 1 edition of each os. place 7 on one side and vista on the other. Or just use a regular dual side and put full set on each side.
     
  19. burfadel

    burfadel MDL EXE>MSP/CAB

    Aug 19, 2009
    2,627
    3,847
    90
    You can fit more than one disk in a cd (dvd) case, makes more sense burning two disks and putting them in the same disk than pissfarting around with trying to get a dual layer burned DVD to work properly! Two single disks is far cheaper than a dual layer DVD, and in some ways more reliable :)
     
  20. mbg19

    mbg19 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 12, 2009
    54
    1
    0
    haha still dont get the point...I know theres many thing i can do but i just want to learn this way,other ways are just too easy..

    **Thanks for that FireSokar thats gonna get me on track!!!! lol