Vista Home Premium 64 bit SP1...disk help

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by kimberlyannr, Apr 13, 2012.

1. kimberlyannr

kimberlyannr MDL Novice

Apr 13, 2012
    I have read about making the download disks but I am not that computer literate and would appreciate some step by step help. I have (or had before computer crashed) Vista Home Premium 64 bit with SP1 pre-installed on a Gateway LX6200, I do still have the product key but no disk. I tried a Recovery disk but it did not work (someone told me it was only good for using one time). So I am hoping there is a way I can download Vista by burning a CD and using my existing product key; but again, I am not that good with computers and have a hard time understanding what and how to do it. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!

2. redroad

redroad MDL Guru

Dec 2, 2011
  3. kimberlyannr

kimberlyannr MDL Novice

Apr 13, 2012
    Ok, I downloaded the 7-zip file and the Checksum Utility to a folder on my laptops desk top..I am not sure what to do with the first one (image) they say SP2 and mine is SP1..is that going to matter and exactly which one do I do? Sorry, told you not very computer literate.

4. redroad

redroad MDL Guru

Dec 2, 2011
    either of these depending on whether you want x86 or 64bit ?? sp2 is a newer version ..
    the download is 17 parts and will take a while and once you have ISO checked then we will go from there

x86 is probably your best choice

This file includes the following Windows Vista editions: Business, Business N, Home Basic, Home Basic N, Home Premium, and Ultimate. Access to each of the multiple editions in this file is determined by your subscription program and level.
    File Name: en_windows_vista_with_sp2_x86_dvd_342266.iso
    Languages: English
    SHA1: 25AD9A776503E6A583BEC07879DBCC5DFD20CD6E