Vista iso?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by eddiebelfast, Aug 3, 2010.

1. eddiebelfast

eddiebelfast MDL Novice

Dec 20, 2009
    Hi, I have been visiting this forum for several months and will say I'm slightly puzzled as to wether things are kosher or not re downloading Vista iso' etc.
    In some threads it appears yes and in others no!
    However, I decided to DL an ISO from this site under the thread:xxx://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/20668-where-can-i-getl-windows-vista-operating-system-iso
    I noticed that the files ended in a number, which gave me cause for thought as to how this would work. To explain, I have been in comps for 25+ years and have burnt ISO files with Linux for a lot of that time ( hundreds). The Linux ISO is just that, it ends in ISO.
    When Win7 trial hit the scene the Win7 ISO was zipped which made me raise my eyebrows, but I had that working after a couple of attempts.
    Now to this ISO ending with a number, I DL and tried to burn it with Imageburn, which didn't recognise the file as an ISO ( which I knew it wouldn't). I then renamed it by deleting the numbers at the end ( Knowing this wouldn't work). Imageburn burnt it but it isn't recognised as a boot disk.( Surprise, surprise!!). I then tried several renames but to no avail.
    So, could some kind person explain to me how I get this ISO to work?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. forgetful

forgetful MDL Novice

Feb 7, 2010
    I don't understand what you tried... did you burn each file you downloaded? Wasn't it obvious that the iso was cut into pieces? An iso is an iso, linux doesn't make an iso different.

25+ years?

all you have to do is open a command prompt and use the copy command

copy /B file_1 + file_2 + ... + file_last_piece new_file_name

copy /B file.01 + file.02 + file.03 ... + file.0(x-1) + file.0x file.iso

3. eddiebelfast

eddiebelfast MDL Novice

Dec 20, 2009
    #3 eddiebelfast, Aug 3, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2010
    (OP)