Visual ESD Link Generator

Discussion in 'MDL Projects and Applications' started by Krutonium, Jun 9, 2015.

  1. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    #1 Krutonium, Jun 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2015
  2. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    #2 Krutonium, Jun 9, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2015
    (OP)
    Ye olde' Reserved Post.
     
  3. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
  4. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    Is that a special case for that language?
     
  5. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    #5 Krutonium, Jun 10, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2015
    (OP)
    I threw the info at the other command line version, it appears to also have the same issue, so no help there...

    So, having poked around, I think I have a fix, Please hold ;)
     
  6. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    Fixed, re-download from link!
     
  7. TeamOS

    TeamOS MDL Guru

    May 27, 2013
    3,029
    1,701
    120
    very awsome that help alot!!!
     
  8. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    > Some of the info you entered appears to be wrong. Please try again!

    Means that it got a 404 from Microsoft for both variations of Download Link
    It doesn't use a database, it just checks both /c/ and /d/ to see if either one works.

    2. Hmmm... I'll re-work it, since that is a good idea.

    3. Maybe not WGet, but I can implement downloading.
     
  9. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    Okay, so I added code to download ESD's, but I think I broke .Net... In any case, I am off for tonight, will work on it again tomorrow.
     
  10. El_Heffe

    El_Heffe MDL Member

    Jul 16, 2007
    131
    49
    10
    The program asks for the SHA1 of the esd I want to download. The program will not function without that information -- BUT -- That information is not listed on the ESD database page.

    Even worse, at that point you can't even exit the program. I had to use task manager to kill the process.
     
  11. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    Ye, I am fixing this - also, to get the SHA1 you have to hit Save on the DB Page, and open the CSV with Excel or similar.
     
  12. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    As far as I can tell, anything before the b1 can be disregarded - I suspect that what happens is you bounce off a load balancing server at MS.
     
  13. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    Yep, once WU starts downloading, hit the Detect Current Download Button and it will grab the link to that download.
     
  14. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    Can you please describe the process of what your trying to do?
     
  15. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    What commands do you run when your doing this?
     
  16. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    14,965
    19,879
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    No, I don't think this will work - I don't see a way to force it to install an update, that is what I would need.
     
  18. Superfly

    Superfly MDL Expert

    Jan 12, 2010
    1,132
    540
    60
    #19 Superfly, Jun 10, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Krutonium, I see you are using a string as a split separator - String.Split takes a char[] - thus it splits on "h" not "http" - use this instead...

    Code:
            
    Dim delimiter As String = "http"
            Dim Split As Array = Regex.Split(OutPut, delimiter)
            For Each item In Split
                If item.Contains("esd") Then
                    txtLink.Enabled = True
                    txtLink.Text = delimiter & item
                    Exit For
                End If
            Next
    I hope this works - my VB is a bit rusty.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Krutonium

    Krutonium MDL Senior Member

    Aug 27, 2013
    406
    281
    10
    #20 Krutonium, Jun 10, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2015
    (OP)
    Yep it did, Uploading new build :p

    Only change was:

    If item.Contains("esd") Then

    to

    if item.toString.toUpper.Contains("ESD") then