vmware 6.51 dell bios

Discussion in 'Virtualization' started by zort, Feb 1, 2009.

  1. zort

    zort MDL Expert

    Feb 19, 2008
    1,105
    18
    60
  2. zort

    zort MDL Expert

    Feb 19, 2008
    1,105
    18
    60
    You can also use ASUS - 2411858C.
    (Oembios.exe doesn't know about that set.)
     
  3. machunter46

    machunter46 MDL Novice

    Jun 24, 2007
    21
    0
    0
    Every virtual machine has a configuration file whose name ends in .vmx.
    Edit this file with notepad and add a command to specify an alternate bios:
    bios440.filename = "VMWARE65_SLP1_MANY_SLIC_DELL.ROM".

    In the above example, the actual file name of the bios is VMWARE65_SLP1_MANY_SLIC_DELL.ROM and the bios file jhas been stored in the same subdirectory as the .vmx file. If it is not in the same subdirectory simply specify the fully qualified file name.
     
  4. dude0316

    dude0316 MDL Novice

    Oct 13, 2008
    9
    0
    0
    Worked prefect. I'm using vmare workstation 6.5.1 build 126-130.
    Thanks a million buddy
     
  5. dobbelina

    dobbelina MDL Senior Member

    Apr 2, 2009
    425
    509
    10
    Awesome !!!
    Just what i needed.:D
    BIG thanks for this ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. sebus

    sebus MDL Guru

    Jul 23, 2008
    5,895
    1,780
    180
    #7 sebus, May 9, 2009
    Last edited: May 11, 2009
    Excellent, thanks a lot. Might just come handy especially that it also works great with ESX 3.5 U3

    sebus
     
  7. tqhoang

    tqhoang MDL BIOS Modder

    Apr 29, 2008
    1,376
    266
    60
    Zort - Can you add the Dell SLIC 2.1 to your hacked VMware BIOS?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    491
    180
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. stukan

    stukan MDL Novice

    May 13, 2008
    33
    0
    0
    does not work on VMware workstation v6.52

    I cannot get it work on VMware workstation v6.52! Is there a different between v6.52 and v6.52?
     
  10. zort

    zort MDL Expert

    Feb 19, 2008
    1,105
    18
    60
    The vmware bios didn't change from 6.51 to 6.52. I tried the bios with dell 2.1 slic that 911medic posted with Vmware Workstation 6.5.2 and it worked fine.
     
  11. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    491
    180
    What exactly does not work about it.."cannot get it to work..." makes for a hard TS session...:D:D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Raph4

    Raph4 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 20, 2007
    53
    7
    0
    work fine here
     
  13. stukan

    stukan MDL Novice

    May 13, 2008
    33
    0
    0
    It's working fine now. I goofed by missing the Dell Certificate.
     
  14. joo nam

    joo nam MDL Junior Member

    Jul 13, 2007
    81
    12
    0
    can you reupload this please or any other working vmware BIOS with SLIC 2.1

    thanks
     
  15. woebetide

    woebetide MDL Member

    May 28, 2007
    240
    78
    10
    #17 woebetide, Jul 29, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  16. klee1987

    klee1987 MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    2
    0
    0
    #18 klee1987, Jul 30, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  17. joo nam

    joo nam MDL Junior Member

    Jul 13, 2007
    81
    12
    0
    thank you for the file
     
  18. tqhoang

    tqhoang MDL BIOS Modder

    Apr 29, 2008
    1,376
    266
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...