VMware OS Optimization Tool 7/8/2008/2012/10 Not just for VMs

Discussion in 'Virtualization' started by Veegertx, Sep 19, 2016.

  1. Veegertx

    Veegertx MDL Junior Member

    Jul 23, 2009
    63
    17
    0
    #1 Veegertx, Sep 19, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2016
  2. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    15,492
    18,606
    340
    I don't know if it's discussed in the Virtualization section of MDL but it would be the correct place to post this.
     
  3. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,861
    13,407
    180
  4. Veegertx

    Veegertx MDL Junior Member

    Jul 23, 2009
    63
    17
    0
    #4 Veegertx, Sep 19, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2016
    (OP)
    Its not just for VM. Its to remove/shutdown the Crapola from all systems. My system is amazing now, windows explode open. Course mine is not too shabby to start but this improved the heck outta it.

    Just start it and choose analyze
     
  5. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,861
    13,407
    180
    #5 Mr.X, Sep 19, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2016
    I get it but being a VMware product I think it should go there.

    Had second thoughts after looking a bit deeper at this program and after reading this post:

    Yes, it could be VMware product, no doubts. But it's a complete different beast meant for different ends other than virtualisation.
    I think it deserves to go in here cause it's meant for multiple OS:
    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/forums/12-Application-Software
     
  6. dobbelina

    dobbelina MDL Senior Member

    Apr 2, 2009
    425
    509
    10
    #6 dobbelina, Sep 20, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2016
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Veegertx

    Veegertx MDL Junior Member

    Jul 23, 2009
    63
    17
    0
    Still new to it myself but it is an amazing giant tweaking tool basically and to work across multiple OS is a plus. Did try it on a clean install yesterday on W10 and had some Failed to apply 44 out of 280. Strange cause most were HKCU reg tweaks and generally they are not permissioned like some of the other reg keys. Don't know what up with that but I have been seeing some weird shiese in the registry with this W10. I used first time on a system I had used Windows10ReTweaker.bat which removes all the APPS/Cortana/Edge from 10 and applies a lot of this and it applied all.

    That's why I don't think it need buried in a vm post somewhere cause it is different in that it is a tweaking tool combining a lot of the stuff from many previous apps since release of W10
     
  8. lomticksoftoast

    lomticksoftoast MDL Member

    Nov 12, 2009
    186
    141
    10
    I got some failures with anniversary edition including not uninstalling built-in apps. I rebooted and ran the tool again, and it removed all the apps, but still failed on a few simple registry edits. I'm wondering if AU edition might be slightly different? In any event, the few registry changes it missed are clearly flagged and easy to manually fix either using a PowerShell scripts or by hand in Group Policy. It still did about 200 tweaks with 10 minutes of effort! Very cool.

    I agree!
     
  9. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,861
    13,407
    180
    Yes I agreed, it could be VMware product, no doubts. But it's a complete different beast meant for different ends other than virtualisation.
    I think it deserves to go in here cause it's meant for multiple OS:
    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/forums/12-Application-Software
     
  10. Veegertx

    Veegertx MDL Junior Member

    Jul 23, 2009
    63
    17
    0
    Think I found the problem. .NET 3.5 is not normally applied on a W10 clean install. LOL part of the requirements for this NET Framework 3.5, SP1.
    I inserted my disk and opened Admin cmd prompt and ran

    Dism /online /enable-feature /featurename:NetFx3 /All /Source:F:\sources\sxs /LimitAccess

    Now most were applied :hummer: for not reading requirements
     
  11. gail

    gail MDL Junior Member

    Feb 15, 2008
    74
    5
    0
    Dont know what this programme has done but Windows is smoking lol no problems so far :worthy:
     
  12. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,861
    13,407
    180
    lol what do you mean by "Windows is smoking"
    Is that urban slang or what? hehe :cool:
     
  13. dobbelina

    dobbelina MDL Senior Member

    Apr 2, 2009
    425
    509
    10
    If you're cold you can always set fire to it :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...