VMWare Player Bios Mod

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by tweety, Jun 10, 2010.

  1. tweety

    tweety MDL Novice

    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    0
    0
    Hello.

    Reading a lot on this forum I first tried to modify vmware player bios and create a oem dvd of windows 7 home premium. And it's working fine. Windows is well activated (I choosed Dell id).

    I'm now trying to do the same for windows xp pro. And ... it seems to be more harder.

    In the bios I have now the 'hewlet' string in the dmi area.
    Using oembios.exe i've got :

    So I've downloaded this file

    Next, I modified an iso image of windows xp pro fr sp3.
    The volume name is GRTMPVOL_FR and the pid in setupp.ini is 76413270. So i suppose it is a vlk version.

    Using this guide How-To-Create-PRO-OEM-SLP-CD, I copied the vlk to pro oem files into i386 and also copied the hp oembios files into i386.

    I start installation. After first reboot I've got an error message : "La signature pour l'installation de WindowsXp Professionnel n'est pas valide."

    Wat's wrong ? It's because i'm using a french version and dpcdll.dl_,nt5inf.ca_,pidgen.dll in english ?

    Does have someone those files in french ?

    Thanks.
     
  2. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,758
    3,118
    300
  3. tweety

    tweety MDL Novice

    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    0
    0
    Hello urie.
    Yes I followed this method (Source 1: VLK PRO SP3 CD or ISO Image) except that it's a french version and the 3 file are in english.
    I'm downloading french sp3 to see if can can extract those files.
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,758
    3,118
    300
    Can't you not just download retail version or even OEM.
     
  5. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,677
    15,651
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,758
    3,118
    300
  7. tweety

    tweety MDL Novice

    Feb 24, 2010
    9
    0
    0
    It's now ok with the 3 files in french extracted from ip folder of sp3.

    Thank.

    By the way can you tell me what's exactly the extradata and pid in the setupp.ini

    I know that pid is 5+3 with 3 last one = 270 for vlk,oem for oem and 335 for retail. But the first 5 ? And the extradata ? They are not the same on all images. So ?
     
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,758
    3,118
    300
    #8 urie, Jun 11, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Here is setupp.ini from dell xp pro sp3 OEM english

    Code:
    [Pid]
    ExtraData=786F687170637175716954806365EF
    Pid=76487OEM