What Am I Doing Wrong? Activating Windows 10 From Windows 7/DAZ

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by DaGoz, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    57
    7
    0
    I am trying to activate Windows 10 by using the DAZ loader in Windows 7, but so far Windows 10 refuses to activate. Here are my steps:

    Files:
    Murphy Windows 10 ISO (Anniversary Update)
    Murphy Windows 7 ISO (March, SP 1)
    Rufus
    DAZ 2.2.2

    What I'm doing:

    1. Format harddrive.
    2. Install Windows 7 ISO.
    3. Run DAZ 2.2.2. Restart (Windows 7 activates)
    4. Copy "GatherOSstate.exe" from Windows 10 ISO and paste to desktop. Right click and run as administrator. GenuineLicense.xml is posted to desktop.
    5. Copy GenuineLicense to USB
    6. Format HD again, and clean install Windows 10.
    7. Copy GenuineLicense.xml to %ProgramData%\Microsoft\Windows\ClipSVC\GenuineTicket, Restart

    I have done these steps twice, and Windows 10 so far refuses to activate. Am I missing something here?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. deadock

    deadock MDL Novice

    Jan 11, 2016
    27
    7
    0
    trying to activate the wrong version of Windows 10?

    The free upgrade period officially ended the 29th July - almost a month ago - I wouldn't be surprised if they started closing doors at some point...
     
  3. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    57
    7
    0
    Is that really the problem? I was told if I activate Windows 7 with DAZ, I could copy the genuine license to Windows 10 and it would still activate....

    Is there a new method for activating Windows 10 now?
     
  4. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,739
    15,303
    340
    The free upgrade from 7SP1 DAZ > 10 should still work, the gatherosstate option also.

    But i miss one step you didn't do:

    - after installing 10 keep the system offline.
    - insert genuineticket.xml
    - restart
    - go online
     
  5. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    57
    7
    0
    Ah, is this the problem? No one mentioned keeping it offline!

    So can I format/re-install Windows 10 and use the genuineticket.xml I already have, or do I have to start all over again?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  6. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,312
    3,793
    210
  7. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    57
    7
    0
    Ah, ok, so it seems staying offline is the key!

    Final question: I have a few other computers with the EXACT SAME motherboard/setup as the original computer, if I copy the Windows 10 install to them using something like Acronis, will they also activate successfully, or do I need to generate a genuineticket.xml for each computer individually?

    Thanks again!
     
  8. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,739
    15,303
    340
    The link Lobo11 showed is the original thread by Yen, it's explicitly mentioned to keep win 10 offline during first boot.

    You can re-use the same genuineticket.xml again but only on the system it's generated on. You can try it on exact copies of the original system but if there is any difference it won't work.
     
  9. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    57
    7
    0
    #9 DaGoz, Aug 20, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2016
    (OP)
    Ok, I'll give it a shot! And I'll report back in case anyone else wants to know.

    I think what I'll do is try clean installing on 2 systems and see if the genuineticket.xml activates on both. If it does, it should be safe to clone the drives. Fingers crossed.

    And thanks again to all who helped!
     
  10. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,683
    13,110
    180
    I want to know, hope you come back!!! :cool:
     
  11. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    57
    7
    0
    I will mate, promise! Stay tuned!
     
  12. Mr.X

    Mr.X MDL Guru

    Jul 14, 2013
    5,683
    13,110
    180
    #12 Mr.X, Aug 20, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  13. Nucleus

    Nucleus MDL Guru

    Aug 4, 2009
    2,886
    2,926
    90
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,739
    15,303
    340
    In the mean time i created 20 uptodate win 7's :D
     
  15. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    57
    7
    0
    #15 DaGoz, Aug 21, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2016
    (OP)
    I'm still not having any success getting Windows 10 activated. Does it matter if I used the gatherosstate on Windows 7 Pro (which I did) or Ultimate?

    For the record, I'm trying to install Windows 10 Pro.
     
  16. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    57
    7
    0
    Oh, ok. No, I was installing Windows 7 Pro, activating with DAZ, then going straight to the Windows 10 install using the genuine ticket generated on Pro. I didn't update or anything else before doing that. I'll re-install Windows 7 (Ultimate this time) and try to get it validated online before upgrading this time.

    As an aside, I didn't know DAZ would validate online. Learn something new every day.
     
  17. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    57
    7
    0
    Yeah, I never thought it'd be this difficult.

    The message I'm getting is: "We can't activate Windows on this device because you don't have a valid digital license or product key. Go to the Store to buy genuine Windows. Error code: 0x803F7001"

    Granted, this is further than I got before, but it's still not activated. :(

    I'm also losing hope that I'll be able to use Acronis to clone this to another computer. I'll still give it a shot, but given how hard it is just to get it working on ONE computer, I'd say the chances of it effortlessly cloning onto another one aren't looking good.
     
  18. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,739
    15,303
    340
    #18 Enthousiast, Aug 21, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Are you using a MSDN Multiple Editions iso or a VLSC Pro iso? Or what happens when you simply upgrade, it could have finished over 50 times by now.

    What key has windows after upgrading?

    What info do you get by entering this command in an elevated cmd:

    Code:
    slmgr /dlv
     
  19. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    57
    7
    0
    #19 DaGoz, Aug 21, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
  20. DaGoz

    DaGoz MDL Junior Member

    Jul 12, 2016
    57
    7
    0
    Any other ideas, guys?