What dvd burner are you guys using in Windows 7 64bit?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by msr, Sep 10, 2009.

  1. msr

    msr MDL Senior Member

    Dec 27, 2007
    414
    55
    10
    #1 msr, Sep 10, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2009
    What dvd burning software are you guys using in Windows 7 64bit?

    I have found that the only dvd burning software that works in windows 7 rtm, is imgburn 2.5.

    What dvd burner are you guys using, as i have tried nero, ashampoo, and others.

    Only imgburn works for me and it means i have to make an iso file first.

    So what one works for you guys?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. iakinthos

    iakinthos MDL Junior Member

    Aug 2, 2009
    89
    0
    0
    UltraIso Premium for ISO files and Ashampoo Burning Studio v9.12 for cds and dvds:)
     
  3. yagami_kira

    yagami_kira MDL Novice

    Jul 25, 2009
    22
    0
    0
    Nero 8 worked for me. Also Alcohol
     
  4. TeeCupp

    TeeCupp MDL Junior Member

    Aug 8, 2009
    73
    4
    0
    Should be burning software not burner,burner is the term for the hardware.
    Ashampoo Burning studio v8, DVD SHRINK, DVD Decrypter.
     
  5. Stool

    Stool MDL Junior Member

    Aug 14, 2009
    71
    0
    0
    Using old nero express 7.9 here. Works flawlessly. For burning iso's easily I use burncdcc. It's a one click iso burner.
     
  6. msr

    msr MDL Senior Member

    Dec 27, 2007
    414
    55
    10
    Sorry did not spot that, yep your right. Edited. thx

    Its funny how i have tried most of the ones you have listed, but only imgburn works in my windows 7.

    I usually use nero 7, for making dvds, but it keeps making coasters in windows 7.

    The only way it works for me now, is to make iso image, and burn with imgburn.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Dolorous Edd

    Dolorous Edd MDL Expert

    Aug 31, 2009
    1,054
    194
    60
    Simpler the better, I use imgburn for most things, Ultraiso for making bootable media.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. msr

    msr MDL Senior Member

    Dec 27, 2007
    414
    55
    10
    Both my main computers are running windows 7, and both just cannot make dvds for some reason.

    Now imgburn is not working, and keeping making coasters, lol.

    I will try to reformat to see if that helps, but man these things are a pain sometimes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. TeeCupp

    TeeCupp MDL Junior Member

    Aug 8, 2009
    73
    4
    0
    Try this mod

    OK try this which ever software you would like to install and try do one of two things or both.
    1= Right click program install/setup file and then properties now go to Compatibility and check the box (run program in compatibility mode for vista sp2) from the tab.
    Now check Privilege level box (run as an administrator) now APPLY >OK.

    2= Or do the above but run setup/install as normal once installed right click program short cut file and then properties now go to Compatibility and check the box (run program in compatibility mode for vista sp2) from the tab.
    Now check Privilege level box (run as an administrator) now APPLY >OK
    And see how things turn out for you.
    By the way I did not need to do any of the above mods to get mine to work.
    Good luck.
     
  10. msr

    msr MDL Senior Member

    Dec 27, 2007
    414
    55
    10
    thx i will try that, never thought you would need to run dvd burner as administrator, but it may work, as from what i seen windows 7 can be funny with file permissions.

    Thx for advice, will try later and get back to you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. msr

    msr MDL Senior Member

    Dec 27, 2007
    414
    55
    10
    Na just tried, same coasters.

    Will just reinstall windows fresh and see if i can burn without installing apps.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. ryaxin

    ryaxin MDL Novice

    Sep 3, 2009
    29
    0
    0
    I personaly use Nero, works well.

    BTW, Windows 7 Ultimate has it's own burning program. Small but it works just as well.

    Just click on the ISO file and Windows 7 will open up the burning program.
     
  13. ailef

    ailef MDL Senior Member

    Nov 30, 2007
    297
    14
    10
    #13 ailef, Sep 10, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2009
    running last nero 7 and last nero 9,
    i had troubles when i opened nero burning rom and clicked on new to open the explorer into nero BRom, then i stopped nero.exe and win 64 asked me to look for solution and restart nero and i have no more troubles, i can clic again on new and open the explorer in nero.
    so there's a prob with the explorer and nero, it cannot open if it doesnt open to the computer icon.
    i dont know how this prob came as i had no troubles before but the prob began for 1 or 2 weeks, maybe there's a conflict with another program installed but i didnt fin yet what's the problem.

    update : maybe i found a way to recover from this problem, if i set the burner to image recorder then i can open the explorer into nero as i had again the same problem, i forgot to put the explorer on computer icon before i closed nero. it seems if i use image recorder i can open new nero compilation.

    update 2 : it seems it doesnt correct the problem, i have again the same trouble.
    found another way and it seems working, i close the menu and choose open then i change the folder and choose computer then when i clic on new, the explorer succesfully opens.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. FuzzyMaster

    FuzzyMaster MDL Member

    Jun 21, 2007
    222
    0
    10
    Might be your hardware or how you installed/configured W7 for your DVD burner (the hardware).

    Did you consider the possibility that your DVDs (the discs) are pooched or that you are trying to burn at too high a speed? Seems odd that 2 machines would have the same problem unless it is the DVDs themselves.

    Every DVD burning software I've tried has worked fine. I am currently using the same versions of Nero8 and Alcohol 120 that I used on Vista and they work perfectly...in fact I can't recall the last time I had a coaster burned, probably at least 2 years.... I am using Ritek (Ridata) DVDs; they are cheap & work on every machine we have (2 laptops, 4 desktops/servers)...
     
  15. LaZBoy

    LaZBoy MDL Novice

    Feb 14, 2008
    31
    4
    0
    Windows 7 RTM Ultimate x64

    Using Nero 9.0.9.4 here without a single issue.
     
  16. roirraW "edor" ehT

    roirraW "edor" ehT MDL Addicted

    Sep 1, 2007
    616
    215
    30
    I'm using Nero 9, and I've also used VSO ConvertXtoDVD, DVDFab (which uses VSO's burning engine), and whatever Acronis uses for burning it's emergency boot CDs.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. kaos420

    kaos420 MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    269
    12
    10
    nero 9 no issues. idk why your is messed. maybe your burner it self crapping?
     
  18. zed87

    zed87 MDL Novice

    Jul 23, 2009
    31
    0
    0
    My previous burning software was Nero 9 and I was really furious with size of every new version of this sh*t, but now I'm using BurnAware Pro and I have all I need. It takes only 24,2MB, the main window starts really fast and has simple and intuitive interface. The only disadvantage is unsupported overburn. (imho it's not so important)
     
  19. Batavian

    Batavian MDL Novice

    May 4, 2008
    3
    0
    0
    I used MagicIso.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. The_Avatar

    The_Avatar MDL Novice

    Aug 23, 2009
    11
    0
    0
    CDBurner XP.

    Don't let the name fool you - it can also burn dvds, blurays and hd-dvds.