What happened to my system?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Shadic, Feb 13, 2013.

  1. Shadic

    Shadic MDL Novice

    Jul 15, 2011
    7
    2
    0
    So yesterday I installed windows 8 x64 enterprise to test it out but i soon found out my ATI Radeon HD3870 doesn't have proper drivers (the legacy ones are awful) so i went back to windows 7 (i created 2 partitions). Back to windows 7 I saw that it had become deactivated so I downloaded windows 7 loader and installed it again. Afterwards I went searching around guru3d forums to see if I could find modded drivers for my card for windows 8 and I did so I booted 8 again and installed them by disabling driver signature enforcement. All was going well until...

    I found out that Windows Update disapeared on "PC Settings": update1.jpg
    If I try accessing it by searching for Windws Update I get this: update3.jpg
    I can't also change anything like UAC and account type, clicking on any options doesn't do anything: uac.jpg
    Trying to create a folder inside "Program Files" doesn't work: folder.jpg
    Trying to change "Program Files" read/write options leads me to this: clsid.jpg
    And I can't also delete or move anything inside "Program Files". Could anyone help me out?

    Before doing all of this I disabled UAC right after I installed 8 for the first time by the way.

    I activated windows using win8kms4.mooo.com server.
     
  2. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    type troubleshooter in search .. run as admin .. fix windows updates .. I'm not logged into an W8 machine right now but that should get you there
     
  3. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    8,398
    28,882
    270
    #3 abbodi1406, Feb 13, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    admin cmd:
    Code:
    sfc /scannow
     
  4. Shadic

    Shadic MDL Novice

    Jul 15, 2011
    7
    2
    0
    #4 Shadic, Feb 13, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Did that troubleshoot.jpg but it still doesn't show and every time i run troubleshoot it fixes the same thing. I can access windows update through desktop though.

    All seems to be fine :confused: scannow.jpg
     
  5. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    8,398
    28,882
    270
    #5 abbodi1406, Feb 14, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Final attemp:
    Code:
    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /ScanHealth
    if any error detected, extract/copy file install.wim from the iso file (if you have it)
    then admin cmd:
    Code:
    md C:\Mount
    DISM /Mount-Wim /WimFile:"path to install.wim" /index:1 /MountDir:C:\Mount
    Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth /Source:C:\Mount\Windows\WinSxS /LimitAccess
     
  6. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,612
    1,406
    60
    Uninstall those drivers first & if problem remains then start troubleshooting ...
     
  7. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,879
    2,036
    210
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,612
    1,406
    60
    If system is not activated then he will get messages related to activation. System will not hide, remove or produce unrelated errors....:sneaky:
     
  9. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,879
    2,036
    210
    I was refer to his pictures Update 1 and 3 posted in his opening post. That looks like that his system isn't activated.

    Anyway it should be first priority to check the Activation Status special at Windows 8 because that status could change with any start of windows 8. If windows 8 is de-activated what what reason ever, this has to be clear on beginning. And in case of to be un-activated, some function will be disabled.

    I'm wonder that not one of you so knowledgeable user see that as the starting point, special on Windows 8!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,612
    1,406
    60
  11. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,879
    2,036
    210
    Neither yopu opr me or anybody else that the owner of those machine in question will know what really happens. We all have to take his/her word about.

    And who knows what all he/she has "tested" on that machine, include but limited a Hacktivator!

    I simply was asking for to re-check the activation status, what really should have priority at first, and that's it! I wouldn't like to go in any discussion with you because you're opposing everything.

    If you don't like what I write, leave it by that or report my post to the MDL Staff.

    Bye.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. rrohela

    rrohela MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,612
    1,406
    60
    Why should i report it? You ponied to one direction which was not right according to me & the way win 8 behaves when it comes to activation problem, so i pointed that.
    OP already run the sfc /scannow & that eliminate the hactivator concept too...

    I leaned the lesson never touch your comments whether they are wrong(i could be) or right coz something constructive will never come out Except "Report it"
     
  13. Shadic

    Shadic MDL Novice

    Jul 15, 2011
    7
    2
    0
    #13 Shadic, Feb 14, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    Ok guys I completely forgot to mention that i used AMD Cleanup Utility to clean my system of failed driver instalation attempts (it was late at night, was tired o_O). Apparently this utility completely fu*ks up windows 8 - forums(dot)guru3d(dot)com / showthread(dot)php?t=373750

    Is there a way to actually fix this instead of restoring the system or is that the only option?

    Ran this and all seems fine - dism.jpg
     
  14. PaulDesmond

    PaulDesmond MDL Magnet

    Aug 6, 2009
    6,993
    7,146
    240
    #14 PaulDesmond, Feb 14, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 14, 2013
    try system restore and say a little prayer but I assume you will have to do new clean install
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. redroad

    redroad MDL Guru

    Dec 2, 2011
    5,326
    6,009
    180
    #15 redroad, Feb 14, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 14, 2013
    I think you've answered your own question .. key words being "this utility completely f*cks up windows 8" :yes::laie:
     
  16. Shadic

    Shadic MDL Novice

    Jul 15, 2011
    7
    2
    0
    #16 Shadic, Feb 14, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 14, 2013
    (OP)
    HAHA aaah f*ck my luck... *sigh* :tooth:

    Thank you all for the help guys :thumbsup: off I go to format c: