what if I come back ?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by potjevleesch, May 1, 2016.

  1. potjevleesch

    potjevleesch MDL Addicted

    Aug 7, 2010
    810
    69
    30
    I had to clean reinstall 10586 after formatting system drive, I intend to upgrade to 14332, in case I run into problems again, I hope I have the possibility to uninstall 14322 then automatically go back to 10586... is this right ?
     
  2. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,684
    1,010
    120
    Yeah if you don't clean any system files after upgrade
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,706
    3,711
    180
    Only for 30 days, then Windows auto deletes the old install (Windows.old)
     
  4. WindowsGeek

    WindowsGeek MDL Senior Member

    Jun 30, 2015
    400
    76
    10
    who told u that? i seen it stay their permanently, the only way to remove it is manually by taken owner ship of the folder.
     
  5. WindowsGeek

    WindowsGeek MDL Senior Member

    Jun 30, 2015
    400
    76
    10
    well i seen the win.old folder in comps and its been their for over a year, and never was removed by schedule task. i believe it doesnt work 100% like MS claims go figure.:D
     
  6. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,706
    3,711
    180
    Even the manual method doesn't always remove it 100%, it leaves behind drivers folders and files, and system says they are in use if you try to remove them

    Even had the machine crash by force removing them, so they were in use for something, PITA trying to get rid of them when it does that, safemode and many different methods and attempts finally worked, and the system was perfectly fine without it in the end, so they weren't supposed to be in use
     
  7. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,313
    120
    You can launch a cmd propmt with nsudo or, even easier, a third party file manager like xyexplorer, then you can delete the whole folder with one click
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,313
    120
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,706
    3,711
    180
    Same happened to me a few times on different machines, doesn't matter who has ownership and permissions given to the correct user, it still complains the files are in use and can not be removed
     
  10. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,707
    15,236
    340
    It was to test what windowsgeek said, here.
     
  11. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,313
    120

    The security settings of win 10 is incredibly annoyig and practically unchanged sine win NT 3.51, but all in all it's just annoying not rocket science.

    If you don't get the ownership you can't change the permissions, but you can have a file owed by you that have the permission set to no one or still set to trustedinstller and partly set to you

    In short you can have a file owned by administrator, readable by everyone, readable and writable by administrators, and full control to trusted installer, you can do everything with it as administrator, but you still can not delete it, unless you give the full permissions to it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,314
    1,433
    180
    c: right click. cleanup tools.
    advanced system files.. check box old windows install.. easy
     
  13. MS_User

    MS_User MDL Guru

    Nov 30, 2014
    2,580
    383
    90
    dude have u been reading....that does not work all the time:rolleyes:
     
  14. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,313
    120
    Well that's a different problem. Possibly restarting explorer or rebooting the PC is enough to fix it.

    Personally I never faced that poblem
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,706
    3,711
    180
    #17 MrMagic, May 1, 2016
    Last edited: May 1, 2016
    Believe me, I rebooted, restarted explorer, everything humanly possible, even in safemode they were "In Use"

    I literally spent 2 days trying to remove the last 600KB of .sys .dll files, can't remember exactly what I did in the end, I think it was some process explorer / killer program, but man what a complete fk on

    And here's the fun part, I could rename them no problem, I could even move them to the desktop, I could remove their extension so they were null files, but could I delete them, not a chance

    How can a null file, with no extension, renamed, folders renamed, moved to the desktop, still be in use by the system, even in safe mode?
     
  16. WaltC

    WaltC MDL Addicted

    Mar 8, 2014
    518
    123
    30
    Cleanup always works for me, on both the .~bt folders and the Windows.old folders. Only time I've had to change ownership is when I tried deleting those files manually...I can't recall why I even did that...;) That was one of the main purposes for Microsoft's bundling the Cleanup utility program with Windows, imo.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,313
    120
    I believe you, just never happened to me. Possibly something went wrong during the upgrade and windows still used the old files instead of the new ones. Just guessing...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. MrMagic

    MrMagic MDL Guru

    Feb 13, 2012
    5,706
    3,711
    180
    Windows can't use renamed, moved, no extension files though, that was the puzzling part