What systems have you got Windows 7 running on?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by DeepDayze, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. DeepDayze

    DeepDayze MDL Novice

    Sep 14, 2010
    35
    3
    0
    Currently I have Win7 running on:

    IBM Thinkpad T42
    IBM Thinkpad T40
    Desktop with Abit KN9 mobo, AMD64 x2 6400+ CPU, 4GB RAM

    Will attempt to install it on my old but goodie IBM T23, as I read somewhere someone got it to run nicely on that old thing.

    If you got Win7 running on old or oddball hardware, why not share your experiences? :)
     
  2. acyuta

    acyuta MDL Expert

    Mar 8, 2010
    1,631
    367
    60
    Congrats. I could not even install windows 7 32 bit on a Dell Insipron 1525 laptop of late-2005.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. sam3971

    sam3971 MDL Guru

    Nov 14, 2008
    2,220
    303
    90
    Ok here is a funny one that was designed for XP Home. It has the following:

    Intel Pentium 4 D @ 3.0 GHz
    Nvidia Geforce 7950 GT @ 512 MB VRAM(Custom Addon)
    160 GB SATA 1.0 HDD
    350 WATT PSU
    Integrated Realtek HD Audio
    4 GB RAM(Custom Addon)
    Asus MoBo

    All components except the CUSTOM ADDONS are 2006 series lol. Running win7 Pro X64 ok here, could be better but who cares, it is my sisters computer :p
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Matrix Leader

    Matrix Leader MDL Addicted

    Dec 8, 2009
    857
    175
    30
    #4 Matrix Leader, Sep 20, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
    Running Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit


    Fujitsu Amilo Pi 3560
    • Intel Core 2 Duo 2.13 GHz.
    • 4 GB DDR2 RAM
    • 15.6" WSVGA (1366 x 768) LED Back Light
    • nVIDIA Geforce GT 240M 1 GB
    • 500 GB HDD (5400 RPM)
    • Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)


    System Rating: 5.7
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. sam3971

    sam3971 MDL Guru

    Nov 14, 2008
    2,220
    303
    90

    LMFAO, there is nothing in your sig except:

    "If you like my post, don't forget to click the star below to give me a reputation point."
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Matrix Leader

    Matrix Leader MDL Addicted

    Dec 8, 2009
    857
    175
    30
    OOOPSS! my bad! thanks for the correction :S Edited now
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. ibeqa

    ibeqa MDL Member

    Sep 14, 2009
    156
    7
    10
    #7 ibeqa, Sep 20, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2010
    Intel Pentium 4 2.66 Ghz
    Asus P4V800D-X modded bios
    HDD: 1x80Gb, 1x40GB and 500Gb ext.
    NVIDIA FX 5500 (256Mb)
    2Gb RAM (2x512Mb & 1x1Gb)
    Windows 7 Ultimate
     
  8. spindoc

    spindoc MDL Novice

    Apr 3, 2010
    7
    1
    0
    I have 2 Rather Aging Systems running W& Professional and very well at that.....

    System 1:

    Apple Mac Mini 1.66GHZ Intel Core 2 Duo
    768MB DDR2 RAM
    80GB HDD
    128MB Intel 945 Express Graphics
    Boot Camp 3
    W7 System Rating: 2.8


    System 2:

    Custom Built PC
    Intel Celeron 336 2.8GHZ processor
    ASRock 775i65G motherboard
    2GB DDR RAM
    ATI Radeon HD2400 Pro 256MB PCIe graphics
    80GB IDE main HDD
    100GB internal SATA storage drive
    320GB Western Digital USB HDD
    W7 System Rating: 3.5
     
  9. DeepDayze

    DeepDayze MDL Novice

    Sep 14, 2010
    35
    3
    0
    #9 DeepDayze, Sep 21, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
    (OP)
    LOL @ the posts

    Keep 'em coming...I'm sure there are people who practically shoehorned Win7 on some radical hardware and want to share how they did it :)

    I have a P4 3.0GHz system with an nVidia 6800 GS plus 2GB RAM and an 80GB SATA disk so installed Win7 Pro on it...runs great! Experience Index of 4.3
     
  10. Bosh

    Bosh MDL Developer

    May 30, 2010
    615
    296
    30
    AMD Athlon 3200+
    1GB RAM
    80GB HDD
    MSI MotherBoard (is HP, so the model is not even in the MSI web site)


    Intel Atom N270
    2GB RAM
    250GB HDD
    Motherboard ?

    AMD Athlon X2 5000+
    2GB RAM
    250GB HDD
    ATI Radeon HD 2400 256MB
    MSI Motherboard
     
  11. mongen

    mongen MDL Junior Member

    Jun 14, 2009
    61
    5
    0
    This rig: AMD PII 720BE@3.4GHz, 4870@800/1000
    Biostar mobo, 4G RAM, 1TB + 640GB HDD

    HTPC: AMD X2 240@stock 2.8GHz
    Biostar mobo, 2G RAM, 640GB HDD

    Netbook: Intel Dual Core Celeron@1.2Ghz
    2G RAM, 320GB HDD

    Backup Notebook: 15" Dynabook from 3 yrs ago, 1.6GHz celeron
    1G RAM, 80GB HDD

    All 64-bit except the Dynabook
     
  12. ibeqa

    ibeqa MDL Member

    Sep 14, 2009
    156
    7
    10
    Forgot to mention this one also:

    Netbook ASUS 1000H
    1.6 Atom 270
    1Gb Ram
    ASUS integrated motherboard
    160Gb HDD
    Windows 7 Ultimate (Daz Loader)
     
  13. Brainsuck

    Brainsuck MDL Addicted

    Oct 9, 2009
    666
    156
    30
    #13 Brainsuck, Sep 21, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
    Foxconn A85GM Branded Gateway
    Amd 9550
    Ati Hd 5550 1 Gig Vram
    8 gig ddr 2
    wd 640 blue
    wd 1.5 green
    sb x-fi
    2 tv cards
    640 Watt Psu
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. exo-dan

    exo-dan MDL Senior Member

    Aug 22, 2009
    258
    297
    10
    Intel DQ35JO
    Core 2 Duo 6600 @ 2.40GHz
    4G DDR-2 @ 666MHz
    Nvidia GForce 9400 GT *512*
    Seagate ST31500341AS 1.5 TB
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. trolltamer2

    trolltamer2 MDL Junior Member

    Jun 5, 2007
    85
    4
    0
    Beat this........

    AMD 1800XP running @ stock 1.53ghz
    1.5gb ddr ram
    Nvidia TNT 32mb Graphics..... why oh why won't aero work !!! ;0)
    40gb ide drive.....


    Runs just as well as XP does on it..... I even managed to mod the bios with AndyP's tools......so its activated too....... I have lent this PC to 2 friends and it just keeps working and coming back when they finally buy a decent one.

    Its having a rest in my garage at the moment if anyone wants a lend of it lol
     
  16. JustinC721

    JustinC721 MDL Novice

    Sep 17, 2010
    24
    2
    0
    - 2.93GHz Core i3 on MSI H55m P31
    - 3.0GHz Core 2 Duo E8400 on ASUS P5N HDMI
    - 3.06GHz Celeron D on MSI P4900M2
     
  17. sureshabhi777

    sureshabhi777 MDL Junior Member

    Jul 18, 2009
    52
    2
    0
    Windows 7 Professional
    :rolleyes:Intel Core i5 750 Processor
    :rolleyes:Intel DP55WB Motherboard
    :rolleyes:Sapphire 1GB DDR3 VideoCard
    WB 1TB Hard Disk 64MB Cache Intellopower
    MRON Case with 550 watt Supply
    :rolleyes:Kingston 2x2GB DDR3 Ram
    :rolleyes:Speaker F&D 5.1 Model 6000
    :rolleyes:Logitech wireless Keyboard & Mouse
    :pDisplay 23" Samsung Touch Panel
    :vamplaser:
     
  18. Nimbus2000

    Nimbus2000 MDL Member

    May 5, 2010
    182
    83
    10
    My computers are:

    Laptop - Acer with Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, Win 7 Pro 32 bit - Linux Mint 9
    Desktop 1 - ECS motherboard with AMD Dual Core CPU, 4 GB RAM, Multiple Hard Drives - Win 7 Ult x64 - Win XP - Linux Mint 9
    Desktop 2 - Acer Revo 1600 - Atom - 2 GB RAM -160 GB HD - Win 7 Ult 32 bit
    Desktop 3 - Asus motherboard with P4 - 1.25 GB RAM - 80 GB HD - Win 7 Ult 32 bit
    Netbook - Asus 1000HE with Atom - 1 GB RAM - 160 GB HD - Win 7 Ult 32 bit

    I have also installed Win 7 on many other computers that belong to friends. The ONLY computer that I could not get to run stable was a HP laptop that was about 10 years old. There was no video driver available for Win 7 (nor Vista). The generic VGA driver blue screened frequently :(
     
  19. randomboy

    randomboy MDL Junior Member

    Feb 10, 2010
    97
    46
    0
    I have a Dell 1525 with C2D 2.1, 2GB RAM running Win7 perfectly
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. pkaji123

    pkaji123 MDL Addicted

    Aug 22, 2009
    763
    224
    30
    Only One system here with Windows 7,in my Desktop PC

    Windows 7 Professional Retail Legit Activation
    Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.2 GHz
    Intel D945GCNL M/B with OnBoard Graphics
    160 GB HDD
    2 GB DDR2 RAM
    and so on...