What Tool To Use To Flash An HP Laptop?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by jiriteach, Jul 31, 2009.

  1. jiriteach

    jiriteach MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    49
    0
    0
    Hi There,

    I already have a MODDED SLIC 2.1 BIOS. I just need to load it. What tool can I use to load this?

    WinFlash won't work as it's not an Award BIOS. Neither will HPQFlash since the BIOS image has been MODDED.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers
     
  2. 4D696B65

    4D696B65 MDL Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    123
    2
    10
    I cant be certain about your bios file but when I flashed my HP laptop I used the tool inside the bios.exe from HP. In mine there are two versions, one for 32 bit and one for 64 bit. They were called SWinFlash.exe and SWinFlash64,exe. Use the one that is appropriate for your architecture.
    This was done from within Windows and was successful for me.

    I hope this helps you, good luck
     
  3. 4D696B65

    4D696B65 MDL Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    123
    2
    10
    I forgot to mention, my bios is Pheonix.
     
  4. 4D696B65

    4D696B65 MDL Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    123
    2
    10
    One other important thing. I had to rename <mybios>.WPH to BIOS.WPH for it to work. Make sure SWinFlash.exe and BIOS.WPH are in the same folder.

    Good luck.
     
  5. Chickenlittle

    Chickenlittle MDL Junior Member

    May 26, 2008
    83
    11
    0
    @4D696B65: did you just use only SWinFlash.exe and BIOS file to flash? or you rename the moded BIOS file and copy to folder winphlash, then run SWinFlash.exe to flash?
     
  6. 4D696B65

    4D696B65 MDL Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    123
    2
    10
    hi, I took the modded <mybios>.WPH and renamed it to BIOS.WPH and copied it to the SWinFlash folder overwriting the file that was there. I executed SWinFlash,exe and let it do its thing.
     
  7. Chickenlittle

    Chickenlittle MDL Junior Member

    May 26, 2008
    83
    11
    0
    Thanks mate. I will try it when i recovered my laptop BIOS, it bricked right now.
     
  8. 4D696B65

    4D696B65 MDL Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    123
    2
    10
    Yen kindly modded my bios and I just found a way to install it according to my case.

    Yen also showed me this pure dos command if that didnt work

    PH161700.EXE 30B7F42.WPH /O /Force /X /C /S


    I didnt have to use that but if you need to, please replace my bios name with yours
     
  9. 4D696B65

    4D696B65 MDL Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    123
    2
    10
    good luck with recovery, its our worst nightmare. I have a chip burner so its no big deal to me but laptop is different. Mine has 40 pin TSOP soldered on the board. pain in the butt to fix.
     
  10. 4D696B65

    4D696B65 MDL Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    123
    2
    10
    #10 4D696B65, Jul 31, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  11. Chickenlittle

    Chickenlittle MDL Junior Member

    May 26, 2008
    83
    11
    0
    Thanks for the infos mate, i've asked calgop about the recover BIOS because we have the same motherboard and BIOS and he showed me step by step how to do it. I will try it when the usb floppy arrived. Thanks again for the infos.
     
  12. 4D696B65

    4D696B65 MDL Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    123
    2
    10
    my pleasure my friend, I hope you get your board working.
    Good luck
     
  13. 4D696B65

    4D696B65 MDL Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    123
    2
    10
    I had the same concern of bricking my board and I looked into methods.
    maybe you dont need usb floppy (I was going to buy one too). try bootable usb stick first. We all have one of those laying around.
     
  14. calgop

    calgop MDL Novice

    Oct 9, 2007
    49
    4
    0
    Hi, Chickenlittle.

    My friend just tell me that ph161700 is work for him.

    After recover your laptop, if you try again you should use ph161700 to flash your bios.

    and don't forget the parameters.
    i.e. ph161700.exe /x /s /BBL /MODE=3 bios.WPH

    Hope this help.
     
  15. jiriteach

    jiriteach MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    49
    0
    0
    Umm the problem is that my bios is a HP Compaq BIOS? 8710W. From all the tools I've used to identify this its shown up as a HP Compaq BIOS.

    Not sure what tool I can use. Also the BIOS image is in .BIN format as part of a .CAB when using HPQFlash.

    Cheers
     
  16. Chickenlittle

    Chickenlittle MDL Junior Member

    May 26, 2008
    83
    11
    0
    #17 Chickenlittle, Aug 1, 2009
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2009
    Thanks guys, my laptop is back. i was able to flash moded BIOS. The windows Vista still activated. I am going to install Windows 7 now. Thanks again for all your helps guys.

    Edit: AFter install Windows 7 ultimate, i imported HP Cer and OEM key, and it still not activate even when i check SLIC, it said SLIC 2.1

    Edit 2: Use a windows 7 loader and choose SLIC present in BIOS, windows activated :D
     
  17. jiriteach

    jiriteach MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    49
    0
    0
    What model HP laptop do you have? and what tool did you use to flash the BIOS?

    Cheers
     
  18. jiriteach

    jiriteach MDL Novice

    Jul 30, 2009
    49
    0
    0
    Anyone? Really keen to get this going.
     
  19. takasuite

    takasuite MDL Senior Member

    Jul 28, 2009
    328
    3
    10
    if we don't have tools, then we use these tools

    -google
    -ask in forums
    -(important) hands + brain + utilities ( hexedit ... )

    j/k :)