What would you consider to be the safest Windows 10 version for now?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by jasongenova, Jun 17, 2016.

  1. jasongenova

    jasongenova MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2016
    74
    19
    0
    I want to switch over to 10 and I need something that is stable. So technically, insider preview is out. Can you recommend me anything? Thank you very much my friends.
     
  2. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,681
    1,009
    120
    Windows Version 1511 OS build 10586.420 would be the latest stable version you can find the february update in MDL PD X files
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. OldMX

    OldMX MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    418
    139
    10
    Windows 10 is as stable as your hardware is, plain and simple. If you have crappy hardware then it will run like crap, if you have good parts it will run like a champion, it runs awesome on my 5 computers at my plance and on the 25 computers i manage at my office, and one more thing, dont modify it or overtweak it, it runs great right out of the box.
     
  4. jasongenova

    jasongenova MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2016
    74
    19
    0
    I currently have the following:
    i7-4790k @4.00
    32GB
    500GB Samsung 850 EVO
    EVGA 980ti SC stock
     
  5. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,681
    1,009
    120
    That will do
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. jasongenova

    jasongenova MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2016
    74
    19
    0
    What is so special about the February Update? Also, which one exactly in there brother? There seems to be a lot links.
     
  7. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,681
    1,009
    120
    My bad I see now it's April update and you have to pick the one that suports your upgrade path so for home versions of windows 7,8,8.1 you need the core version for all the others Pro
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. jasongenova

    jasongenova MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2016
    74
    19
    0
    Hmm. I was able to activate Windows via Microsoft Toolkit. But I guess that is not advisable? Back with the Win7 - Validate - GenuineXML method?
     
  9. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,681
    1,009
    120

    No not need for that all you have to do is insert your windows 7 key into windows 10 it has changed
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. jasongenova

    jasongenova MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2016
    74
    19
    0
    Oh. I don't own a legitimate copy of Windows 7.
     
  11. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,681
    1,009
    120

    Then KMS the hell out of it :p
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,693
    15,185
    340
    Just do what everybody is doing for almost a year now: win 7 activated by daz loader > upgrade or gatherosstate to 10, HWID established.
     
  13. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,681
    1,009
    120
    or you can do that crazy that it still works :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. jasongenova

    jasongenova MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2016
    74
    19
    0
    Yeah. That's what I've done but it somehow messed up with my drivers. And the alt-tab items are getting stuck at the middle. Is it necessary to validate your installation or are you good to go once activated? One more thing, I want to read more about the Loader. Been using that for like 5 years. Somehow, the thread is missing for it. Is Daz ok?
     
  15. EFA11

    EFA11 Avatar Guru

    Oct 7, 2010
    8,796
    6,750
    270
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/forums/39-Windows-Loader


    If you need the latest Daz loader or KMS, click in my sig. The loader DL thread is removed (temp I think), its grown too big and causing issues with the forum I believe.
     
  16. Tiger-1

    Tiger-1 MDL Guru

    Oct 18, 2014
    2,694
    2,693
    90
    @ Enthousiast yay dude :clap:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. pozdravlyu

    pozdravlyu MDL Novice

    Sep 10, 2009
    21
    0
    0
    Figured I might as well upgrade to w10 on a spare drive as that freebie going away July 29, so started looking at which 10 to use.
    Thanks for this info about using the 'old' key - that will save me some pissing about with reinstalls etc :)
     
  18. LiteOS

    LiteOS MDL Expert

    Mar 7, 2014
    1,368
    516
    60
    Ltsb rs1 when rtm is done
    or server 2016 with same build
     
  19. samgu

    samgu MDL Novice

    Mar 30, 2015
    13
    0
    0
    #19 samgu, Jun 18, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2016
    Sorry to use this topic, but my question is the same. I have been using Win 10 Pro since launch and haven't tried other versions besides home or Enterprise at work. Since I don't play on PC, I was thinking on giving a try on LTSB or on Server 2016 as mentioned. SO my point is: if I don't care about fluffy colors and windows apps for daily use, those would be my best option? I don't care about frequent updates or new stuff, or new "features" for windows 10. But I am do care about knowing what's going on on my system and use my resources with what I need and not with others think I need to use.
     
  20. monstrocity

    monstrocity MDL Novice

    Jun 4, 2016
    6
    1
    0
    LTSB 2015 is a solid choice for your needs, but I'd wait until LTSB R1 comes out next month.