when i press any key windows start up ?

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by BabySitter, Mar 27, 2014.

  1. BabySitter

    BabySitter MDL Junior Member

    Jan 26, 2014
    79
    0
    0
    #1 BabySitter, Mar 27, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2014
    Hello
    I run Win 8.1 Enterprise 64 and i notice when my computer (Desktop) is turned off but still has a little power (attached to the power "and not sleep") when i press any key from keyboard suddenly the computer start up so is that normal ?
    i'm just afraid from completely cut the power off when its turned off !?
    ِAnd is there any damage when i turn on my PC from keyboard ?
    and what differences between turn on from the normal power button and the keyboard ?
    And which way should i use for turning on my Desktop from the normal power button or from the keyboard ?
    and sorry 4 my horrible English
    :p
     
  2. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,680
    10,126
    210
    I think certain bios versions allow boot on keystroke. Is something like that enabled on your system?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. BabySitter

    BabySitter MDL Junior Member

    Jan 26, 2014
    79
    0
    0
    i'm sorry but i edit my first post can u check it again ?
     
  4. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,680
    10,126
    210
    There is only two options here:
    1) Your computer is going to hibernate mode when you use the power option
    2) Your computer can detect keystrokes and boot with bios

    You should try searching for articles on the internet in your language about computer not fully powering down.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,861
    2,029
    210
    murphy78 is right about the BIOS! There's also the Power Option Settings in Windows which need to be adjusted to your need's.

    Check both of of the above and set as you like!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. BabySitter

    BabySitter MDL Junior Member

    Jan 26, 2014
    79
    0
    0
    #6 BabySitter, Mar 27, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2014
    (OP)
    I run Win 8.1 Enterprise 64 on ASRock b95m motherboard
    plz tell me what i have to do and what i have to avoid ?
    And my computer don't go to hibernate mode when i use the power option its turn off (shut down)
     
  7. GurliGebis

    GurliGebis MDL Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    105
    142
    10
    Open Device Manager in Windows, find your keyboard, right click and select properties.
    Open the power settings tab, and deselect that this device is allowed to wake the computer.
     
  8. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,861
    2,029
    210
    It could also be the USB (Mouse) and for that Wake up on USB need to be disabled in BIOS too!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,861
    2,029
    210
    I couldn't find any MB ASRock b95m!! What you really have?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. s1ave77

    s1ave77 MDL Guide Dog/Dev

    Aug 15, 2012
    15,354
    21,476
    340
    #10 s1ave77, Mar 27, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Afaik Hybridboot is activated by default in Win 8.x, so Windows won't shutdown completely, as long it's not disabled. Can only be disabled in registry.

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Power]
    "HiberbootEnabled"=dword:000000
    Save as hybridbootdisable.reg and import via double click.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,861
    2,029
    210
    Please be precize with the info's you post! Your MB is an B85M and NOT b95m!!

    You opened an other thread about the drivers: http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/53404-What-drivers-do-i-need?p=891352&viewfull=1#post891352 and that you should had posted here instead!!

    By the way, that MB is designed for Windows 8.1 already! So all should just work correctly. The needed drivers are on the ASRock website or the CD/DVD you got with the MB! Install all drivers, even if you're not sure you really need them! That ad on apps are a different "game", just install what you need and NOT all! Read the Manual and infos before doing!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,861
    2,029
    210
    #12 pisthai, Mar 27, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    That B85M MB has the latest AMI UEFI BIOS and the user has to be a bit careful while configure! Even you disable Hiberboot in Registry, the PSU will still be in Standby! I've a similar BIOS in my Fatal1ty MB!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    8,096
    27,018
    270
    #13 abbodi1406, Mar 27, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    In my system (disabled fast startup manually in CP) i found the key in this path:
    Code:
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Power]
    "HiberbootEnabled"=dword:000000
     
  14. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,680
    10,126
    210
  15. BabySitter

    BabySitter MDL Junior Member

    Jan 26, 2014
    79
    0
    0
    I'm sorry it was a mistake i was mean B85M not B95M
    u guys mean that is my computer doesn't completely turned off so its not safe to shut down the power ? (cut the power after turned it off)
     
  16. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,861
    2,029
    210
    There isn't any problem for to switch/cut off the power after Windows is down already!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. BabySitter

    BabySitter MDL Junior Member

    Jan 26, 2014
    79
    0
    0
    I forgot to say that the mouse still lighting after shutdown
     
  18. Carlos Detweiller

    Carlos Detweiller MDL Spinning Tortoise

    Dec 21, 2012
    2,511
    2,148
    90
    That's because many machines have their ports still powered although they are shut down (Standby line in modern ATX power supplies). A mouse or keyboard still powered up does mean Jack Schitt in that case!
    You would only lose data with states S0-S3. As long as the system is hibernated (Suspend to disk, S4) or completely powered off (S5) you can pull the plug. If you were to lose data by cutting power, there would usually be some type of warning indicator, such as a blinking or differently-colored System/Power LED.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...