When to use SLIC v2.1?

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Jireugi, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. Jireugi

    Jireugi MDL Novice

    Oct 30, 2009
    5
    0
    0
    Hi all,

    Didn't know if i had to put this under bios mods or Windows 7...

    Read some threads about modding bios with SLIC 2.1 and there is some good stuff in there.

    But usually the threads have a prerequisite to understand what SLIC (& SRP) is/does.

    I have a DELL (i know :eek:) inspiron 530 with SLIC v2.0 bios.

    I want to install Windows 7 (bought a OEM version of win7 with a new HDD and memory), so do i need to upgrade SLIC to v2.1 or not?

    Anyone out there who can shed some light on this?

    Thanks
     
  2. Everilda

    Everilda MDL Senior Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    306
    25
    10
    #2 Everilda, Oct 30, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    If you have a valid key with your OEM disk then you do not need a SLIC v2.1 bios.
    You enter the key at installation of win 7 and activate on-line.

    If you do not have a valid key then you could use a loader, which emulates a SLIC v2.1 bios or get a modified SLIC V2.1 bios.

    Searching the forum shows that the Dell inspiron 530 bios has been modified but the links to the modified bios are dead, so you would have to put in a new request.

    Read this if you have not already done it - http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/7126
     
  3. Jireugi

    Jireugi MDL Novice

    Oct 30, 2009
    5
    0
    0
    Yes, i do have a valid product key since it is a legitimate OEM which i bought in a computer store with some new hardware.

    This is good news thanks :D
    But still don't know much about SLIC, i guess i'll search the net some more...
     
  4. Everilda

    Everilda MDL Senior Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    306
    25
    10
    #4 Everilda, Oct 30, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    SLIC is just part of the way in which major OEM's activate windows.
    Read this - http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/5619

    Its from the Vista thread but also applies to Win7 with the exception that the SLIC version was upped from V2.0 to V2.1.

    Hope this helps.
     
  5. Jireugi

    Jireugi MDL Novice

    Oct 30, 2009
    5
    0
    0
    Hi Everilda,

    This is the stuff i'm looking for...
    Don't know why i didn't find this thread before:confused:

    Anyways, thanks so much.

    PS: Going to install Win 7 today (bye bye Vista :p)
     
  6. Everilda

    Everilda MDL Senior Member

    Jun 28, 2009
    306
    25
    10
    #6 Everilda, Oct 31, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Glad to be of help.

    If you did wish to mod your bios there is a thread here for the Dell Inspiron 530 which may be of interest
    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/8824