Which DMI tool? & How to recover restore original UUID on Sony Vaio VGC-CS11Z?

Discussion in 'BIOS Mods' started by Enceladus, Aug 20, 2012.

  1. Enceladus

    Enceladus MDL Novice

    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    0
    0
    #1 Enceladus, Aug 20, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2012
    Flashed a Sony Vaio VGN-CS11Z with modded R0290Q2 bios. Insyde H2O Rev 3.5.

    So far so good. However:
    "Machine Name:" now says "Reserved"
    "Serial Number:" now says Reserved"
    "UUID:" is all Fs

    So I guess I need some version of DMI tool to write the correct values? Anybody care to say which one?
    And where do I find the original UUID? Is it in the Windows Vista registry somewhere? Or on the mainboard?

    Thanks,
    Enceladus
     
  2. gameecon

    gameecon MDL Novice

    Jul 6, 2012
    4
    1
    0
    Any luck? I'm looking for the same tool to fix another Sony model...

     
  3. Enceladus

    Enceladus MDL Novice

    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    0
    0
    No!
    I can read the info using dmitool.exe ver 1.0s 2008/03/28.
    If I try a write then it fails with return code 82h - Function not supported.
    I guess that means that the DMI is locked.
    I cannot find a dmitool for Sony but it seems one exists. The same motherboards are used across several models.

    Anybody know of a DMI tool for Sony Vaio with InsydeH2O?
    Thanks,
     
  4. quid

    quid MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2010
    348
    410
    10
    #4 quid, Aug 22, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  5. Enceladus

    Enceladus MDL Novice

    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    0
    0
    Thanks for trying!
    Alas it does not work. Returns "Can't use SXBIOS".
    I am wonder if it may be possible to modify some flags in platform.ini and use InsydeFlash.exe to flash the missing info. I can't figure out how to do it.
    It must be possible to put the board into some sort of factory mode to ask for the missing info at first power on and then generates a new UUID. Or a maintenace utility to do it. The same motherboard is used in different models. I can't find the utility (assuming it exists).

    There are millions of these Vaios around. somebody on here know the answer.
    Please help!
    Thanks,
    Enceladus
     
  6. quid

    quid MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2010
    348
    410
    10
    #6 quid, Aug 23, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  7. Enceladus

    Enceladus MDL Novice

    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    0
    0
    I can extract the file from the image OK. However I cannot test as the Vaio VGN-CS11Z is currently bricked. I flashed the original bios and all seemed ok, (Vista stopped complaining about not being genuine). Slic_Toolkit reported Sony 2.0 instead of Sony 2,1. So I tested again with dmitool and still fails. So I installed DMISCope, the trial version. I tried to run the test to see can it write the required info. This returned that a registered install was required to test. Bit stupid that as I want to know will it work before I pay for it. (Last resort). Anyway 60 seconds later screen went blank and laptop powered off by itself.

    It will not power back on. Remove the battery and the power and then re-insert either or both and the power light comes on for a couple of seconds. Or close and open the lid with the battery and power connected. You can hear the HD and DVD trying to start and then it all switches off. And will not power on again until the lid is closed & opened or power and battery removed and one or both is reconnected.

    Removed the CMOS battery and this has made no difference. And tried to power on with no HD or DVD and swapping and removing SODIMMs, likewise no difference.

    And no response to WIN + B or Fn +B or Fn + Esc etc. So I imagine the board is bricked or faulty.
     
  8. Enceladus

    Enceladus MDL Novice

    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    0
    0
    OK. I have un-bricked the VAIO.
    SU.exe does nothing at all when run with no parameters. Otherwise I get "Return_Code=-1".
    Also I cannot figure out what the required command and syntax might be?

    I am still wondering if it is necessary to modify platform.ini to allow the DMI to be written. Then reflash with InsydeFlash.exe. And then the required values are input from the platform.ini or via an input file. There is a [VARIABLE] section in platform.ini and the [ForceFlash] section has this.
    [ForceFlash]
    ALL=0
    BB_PEI=0
    CPU_Microcode=0
    Variable=0
    DXE=0
    EC=0
    Password=0
    OEM_NVS=0
    Logo=0
    Type#09=0
    Type#08=0

    ;ALL 1 -> Flash all ROM part. 0 -> Resverd all protect areas.
    ;BB_PEI, CPU_Microcode, Variable...
    ;1 -> Force flash these area if BIOS report them are protected areas.
    ;0 -> Protect these area if BIOS report them are protected areas.

    [VARIABLE]
    Flag=0
    SystemManufacturer=0
    BoardManufacturer=0
    SystemProductName=0
    SystemSerialNumber=0
    Uuid=0
    POSTInfo=0
    Version=0
    SLP=0
    Setup=0
    BootPriority=0
    LastBootRecord=0
    AcpiGlobalVariable=0
    SLP2M=0
    SLP2P=0

    And there must be a field maintenance CD for this. Alas I cannot find it.
    All ideas welcome.
    Thanks,
     
  9. quid

    quid MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2010
    348
    410
    10
    #9 quid, Aug 26, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    System Machine name would be something like the following:
    Code:
    SU -type 1 /WDMI 5 MachineNameString
    System Serial Number:
    Code:
    SU -type 1 /WDMI 7 SerialNumberString
    System UUID:
    Code:
    SU -type 1 /WDMI 8 UUIDString
     
  10. Enceladus

    Enceladus MDL Novice

    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    0
    0
    Alas does not work!

    Get "Write String .. Fail!!! rc = 82"
    and at bottom of screen
    "Return_Code=-1"

    Tried the strings with and without quotes and also blank. Blank string and you are prompted to input a string.

    So rc=82 looks like the same code as dmitool.exe?

    Thanks,
     
  11. Enceladus

    Enceladus MDL Novice

    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    0
    0
    #12 Enceladus, Aug 27, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
    (OP)
    Alas no luck here either. The dmi.exe from above returns:
    And the DMI15.exe returns.
    In the meantime I have discovered another platform.ini for InsydeFlash.exe
    This tells me:
    [VARIABLE]
    Flag=0
    SystemManufacturer=0
    BoardManufacturer=0
    SystemProductName=0
    SystemSerialNumber=0
    Uuid=0
    POSTInfo=0
    Version=0
    SLP=0
    Setup=0
    BootPriority=0
    LastBootRecord=0
    AcpiGlobalVariable=0
    SLP2M=0
    SLP2P=0
    ;Flag set 0 -> Nothing to do, 1 -> Erase variable before flash, 2 -> Erase variable only

    So in the absence of a maintenance utility, it looks like you set Variable=1 in the [ForceFlash] section and Flag=1 or is Flag=2 in the [VARIABLE] section, but how to pass the strings themselves? It does not seem to be as simple as editing SystemProductName=0 to say SystemProductName=VGN-CS11Z or SystemProductName="VGN-CS11Z".

    All ideas welcome!

    Thanks,