Which ISO for Upgrade Edition Choice?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by IAmTheDude, Jun 12, 2016.

  1. IAmTheDude

    IAmTheDude MDL Member

    Oct 12, 2011
    112
    19
    10
    Hi all,

    I recently cleared out a ton of crap from PC and in the process I think Ive ditched the iso that gave you the option to choose which edition of 10 to install when using a PC that has an integrated key.

    Im right in thinking that they changed the setup files at some point to only allow you to only install the edition that matched the key right?

    Not imagining that am I?

    Or was it that you had to do it offline cuz the setup updates certain files if connected to the net?

    I had a thread bookmarked but seem to have lost it and not been keeping up with the 10 scene lately.
     
  2. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,775
    1,088
    120

    I'll get your questions but why don't you do some searching here on the forum this has been discussed many times ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. ch4os

    ch4os MDL Junior Member

    Jan 9, 2010
    55
    50
    0
    #3 ch4os, Jun 12, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Just use your normal Win10 ISO, create a bootable USB stick from it with Rufus or some other tool of your choice.

    Then add this new text file: /sources/ei.cfg, content:
    Code:
    [Channel]
    _Default
    
    [VL]
    0
    Done ;)
     
  4. IAmTheDude

    IAmTheDude MDL Member

    Oct 12, 2011
    112
    19
    10
    #4 IAmTheDude, Jun 14, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    (OP)
    No thats cool. I did have a post/thread bookmarked but lost it.

    Id convinced myself that there was at some point changes to the setup files in the newer isos which prevented this and you had to use a older iso to get round it.

    I knew ei.cfg from Win81 but didn't realize it was the way to get round it in 10 as well.

    Cheers!
     
  5. jasongenova

    jasongenova MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2016
    74
    19
    0
    #5 jasongenova, Jun 17, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Can you please explain what that does?
     
  6. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    14,733
    16,943
    340
    #6 Enthousiast, Jun 17, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2016
    It "disables" the autoselecting of the edition to be installed based on a system which has an oem:Dm bioskey for 8.x/10 home, so you can install pro on it.

    It's only neccessary for systems with an 8.x/10 oem:Dm bioskey for home when you want to install another edition on.
     
  7. jasongenova

    jasongenova MDL Junior Member

    Jan 23, 2016
    74
    19
    0
    I see. Thanks for the explanation. It thought it was for activation or something.