which laptop memory should I get for an envy 15?

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by christian666, Oct 23, 2011.

  1. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
  2. Stannieman

    Stannieman MDL Guru

    Sep 4, 2009
    2,232
    1,798
    90
    Check what voltage the modules have that are already in your pc and by the one with the same voltage if possible. Then you're sure it works.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    how can I check the voltage modules?
     
  4. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    how can I check the voltage modules?
     
  5. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    planaria-742878.jpg

    this its what i get
    what does it mean?
     

    Attached Files:

    • pro.jpg
      pro.jpg
      File size:
      18.9 KB
      Views:
      7
  6. R29k

    R29k MDL GLaDOS

    Feb 13, 2011
    4,668
    4,254
    150
    SPD tab :eek:
     
  7. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    Capture.jpg

    here what i see

    so is my memory at voltage 1.5 and I should get pc3-10700?
     
  8. R29k

    R29k MDL GLaDOS

    Feb 13, 2011
    4,668
    4,254
    150
    Yep spot on :good3:
     
  9. R29k

    R29k MDL GLaDOS

    Feb 13, 2011
    4,668
    4,254
    150
    Open CPUz , look under the Mainboard tab, and post what chipset that laptop has on it.
     
  10. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
  11. christian666

    christian666 MDL Senior Member

    Feb 24, 2010
    275
    4
    10
    Capture3.JPG

    i hope this is a better pix
     
  12. R29k

    R29k MDL GLaDOS

    Feb 13, 2011
    4,668
    4,254
    150
    Well before if you wanted to know what memory to get for a board , you didn't have info on, you would just look up the chipset on Intel website
    and it would have have the memory speeds that work with that chipset. In that case the memory controller, the Northbridge, was in the chipset.
    Now with the i3/i5/i7 Processors the Northbridge is on the Processor itself and the Chipset just carries the Southbridge.
     
  13. R29k

    R29k MDL GLaDOS

    Feb 13, 2011
    4,668
    4,254
    150
    Part of the timing info on that Wintec is left out and I wouldn't buy Wintec .:eek:
    The Gskill I linked to looks good, if you read the reviews quite a lot of people used them in laptops without issues.
     
  14. R29k

    R29k MDL GLaDOS

    Feb 13, 2011
    4,668
    4,254
    150
    Yes pretty much see it says DDR3 1066/1333 those would work, but you should stick with well known brands that's a laptop and it's possible that you buy the memory and your laptop doesn't boot with it. G Skill should be good :biggrin5: