Which Linux is for me ?!!

Discussion in 'Linux' started by xhemal1325, Oct 31, 2020.

1. xhemal1325

xhemal1325 MDL Member

May 24, 2014
    Hi guys ,

I have a lenovo g50-30 laptop, and its 6-7 years old , I want to install linux on it but i have never used linux before , where should i start ?!
    I need a linux to work for : Microsoft Office , Firefox ,pdf Reader,One drive, is there any linux distro to run those apps ?

Attached Files:

2. kaljukass

kaljukass MDL Guru

Nov 26, 2012
    Can I ask for more details, but in general it is a good enough computer that it could hold any Windows, especially if you say you want to use Microsoft Office and OneDrive.
    If so, then why just Linux?

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. smallhagrid

smallhagrid MDL Addicted

Sep 14, 2013
    #5 smallhagrid, Oct 31, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2020
    Linux enthusiast here - and BTW, I am not at all stupid, sorry:
    Nor am I "The worst thing in the world" - no matter what this member's PUBLICLY STATED OPINION may be.

The recent rash of name-callers here is very nasty & disappointing; Whether done in replies directly, or via their sig, as with what this member has done.

Now, back to the choices of office suites for a moment:
    U/M does come with L.O. included, and I have been removing it completely, for 2 very good reasons=>
    1 - In the 6.x series it was always very crashy & made messes (haven't tried the 7.x version yet - no further need...) ;
    2 - Its default install dumps a huge number of non-english fonts into the system, which is very excessive & annoying.

As to M$0 and/or 0nedrive as any sorts of reasons NOT to use Linux:
    As stated earlier - Freeoffice is very completely M$0 compatible, less of a resource hog than any other suite that I've used, and of course also...it is 100% free.