Why does newer Windows Setup versions reject any 1709 WIM I provide?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by TheCollDude489, Sep 3, 2019.

  1. TheCollDude489

    TheCollDude489 MDL Junior Member

    Apr 16, 2018
    79
    9
    0
    I've discovered this issue a few months ago, and have found literally no solutions to fixing this issue. Basically, whenever I use a Windows 10 1709 WIM file, any edition I select gives me this error message:
    vmware_2019-08-05_16-30-45.png

    This does not happen with any other version of Windows 10, even versions as old as RTM 1507. This also doesn't happen if I use an older version of the Windows Setup (1709 or lower), which happily accepts any 1709 image I provide it. Attempting to use autounattend.xml to skip the licence agreement page doesn't work either (same error in the screenshot above comes up and halts the setup).

    I'm also not sure if this is related to a similar issue a friend of mine was having (Windows Embedded 7 WIM files showing the same exact error in newer versions of Windows Setup).

    Could someone please tell me why this issue happens and how I can fix the issue?
     
  2. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    23,009
    32,080
    390
    #2 Enthousiast, Sep 3, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2019
    Iirc, this happens when the setup.exe from the boot.wim index 2 sources folder doesn't match the setup.exe from the iso\sources folder.

    Running a test :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. TheCollDude489

    TheCollDude489 MDL Junior Member

    Apr 16, 2018
    79
    9
    0
    I checked both of those files, and both have the same SHA1 hash and filesize.
     
  4. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    23,009
    32,080
    390
    #4 Enthousiast, Sep 3, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2019
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Carlos Detweiller

    Carlos Detweiller MDL Spinning Tortoise

    Dec 21, 2012
    3,166
    2,773
    120
    Do you use the SWM format (split WIM)? In this case, the license documents must reside inside the first part of the SWM.
     
  6. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    23,009
    32,080
    390
    I did the test with a 2200MB split wim (install.swm + install2.swm) file set, no error.
    Next i created 23 install.swm files, 100MB each, and no error too.

    When i open the first install.swm file of the 100MB split wims, it contains the license files (license.rtf).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    23,009
    32,080
    390
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    23,009
    32,080
    390
    #10 Enthousiast, Sep 3, 2019
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2019
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. TheCollDude489

    TheCollDude489 MDL Junior Member

    Apr 16, 2018
    79
    9
    0
    I followed the steps exactly as you stated in the post and created an ISO, which I then proceeded to use in VMWare.

    vmware_2019-09-02_21-36-36.png
    This is what appeared upon booting from the ISO, went straight to starting the setup.

    vmware_2019-09-02_21-36-47.png
    Asked for the language settings, and I clicked next.

    vmware_2019-09-02_21-37-08.png
    It asked which edition I wanted, so I left it at the default selection and clicked next.

    vmware_2019-09-02_21-37-18.png
    Then it stopped at the same error I was encountering about missing Software License Terms.

    I checked the hashes again, and they were the same as the one you posted. I'm not sure what is going on at this point.
     
  10. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,734
    10,303
    210
    You get this message when the channel and index cannot find the appropriate license rtf file.
    If it normally installs a volume GVLK that activates with KMS, sometimes they won't include a retail license.
    You can solve this in one of two ways.
    First you can make a license for the retail channel, which I wouldn't recommend.
    Second you can alter or create the ei.cfg file in the iso's \sources\ folder
    The contents of the ei.cfg file should be as follows:
    Code:
    [Channel]
    Volume
    [VL]
    1
     
  11. TheCollDude489

    TheCollDude489 MDL Junior Member

    Apr 16, 2018
    79
    9
    0
    I already created an ei.cfg file with those same contents. The error coming up appears with or without the ei.cfg file. I also did some more testing and found the same exact issue happens with any Windows Embedded 7 WIM images as well, even ones I captured from an offline system with the DISM command.

    Speaking of the license.rtf files, where exactly are they all located? I know that Windows 7 ISOs had them in the sources directory, but that seems to have changed with Windows 8 and up.
     
  12. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,734
    10,303
    210
    They're in the install index in a subfolder in the Windows directory if I remember correctly. If you mount your index and search for rtf files in the Windows folder you should be able to find them.
     
  13. TheCollDude489

    TheCollDude489 MDL Junior Member

    Apr 16, 2018
    79
    9
    0
    Yeah, I found them. Still doesn't make sense how the setup can't find them when they're in what I assume is the proper place ("\Windows\System32\en-US\" for English). I guess this is also why certain versions of Windows will always show an error with the Windows 10 Setup, like WES7.

    Is there another place that the setup checks for the licence.rtf files? Or was is hard-coded to look through the install.wim?
     
  14. AndyMutz

    AndyMutz MDL Member

    Jun 30, 2011
    195
    425
    10
    I encountered this error a long time ago.
    this happens when using the installation media of 1803 (or newer), together with a WIM file, which includes the enterprise SKU of 1709 or older (including enterprise SKUs of windows 8.1 and 7).
    if I remember correctly, it has to do with how 1803 (or newer) setup files look up the license for the enterprise SKU.
    older setups (before 1803) are looking for an enterprise license, while beginning with 1803, the setups look for a professional license when you try to install an enterprise SKU.

    -andy-
     
  15. GurliGebis

    GurliGebis MDL Member

    Mar 3, 2008
    107
    149
    10
    I have seen this error on VM's if there is too little RAM allocated.
    How much RAM does the machine have?
     
  16. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    9,656
    36,360
    300
    It may help to read the setup logs

    they should be in X:\Windows\Panther
    copy it to another location (or the C:\ drive if it's formatted)
     
  17. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    23,009
    32,080
    390
    I totally forgot to press next.

    Got the same error (the previous test worked), here are the logs:

    setuperr.log
    Code:
    2019-09-03 10:53:20, Error      [0x060126] IBS    CallBack_ImageWasSelectedInUi: An error occurred while removing the MultiEdition key from the blackboard.[gle=0x00000490]
    2019-09-03 10:53:23, Error                 IBS    Callback_License_LoadLicenseText: SkuGetImageEulaAsString Failed to get the EULA; hr = 0x80070490:[gle=0x00000003]
    2019-09-03 10:53:23, Error      [0x060613] IBS    Callback_License_LoadLicenseText:An error occurred while retrieving the EULA; hr = 0x80070490[gle=0x00000490]

    diagerr.xml
    Code:
    <z:row Cls="D" Sev="33554432" Maj="Def" Min="Def" LN="1071" Fil="" Fun="CallBack_ImageWasSelectedInUi" Uid="33947942" Msg="CallBack_ImageWasSelectedInUi: An error occurred while removing the MultiEdition key from the blackboard." PID="968" TID="1284" Con="" Exe="X:\Sources\setup.exe" Mod="WinSetup.dll" Err="1168" MD="" DT="2019-09-03T10:53:20"/>
    <z:row Cls="D" Sev="33554432" Maj="Def" Min="Def" LN="474" Fil="" Fun="Callback_License_LoadLicenseText" Uid="33947648" Msg="Callback_License_LoadLicenseText: SkuGetImageEulaAsString Failed to get the EULA; hr = 0x80070490:" PID="968" TID="1284" Con="" Exe="X:\Sources\setup.exe" Mod="WinSetup.dll" Err="3" MD="" DT="2019-09-03T10:53:23"/>
    <z:row Cls="D" Sev="33554432" Maj="Def" Min="Def" LN="510" Fil="" Fun="Callback_License_LoadLicenseText" Uid="33949203" Msg="Callback_License_LoadLicenseText:An error occurred while retrieving the EULA; hr = 0x80070490" PID="968" TID="1284" Con="" Exe="X:\Sources\setup.exe" Mod="WinSetup.dll" Err="1168" MD="" DT="2019-09-03T10:53:23"/>
    
    diagwrn.xml
    Code:
    <z:row Cls="D" Sev="50331648" Maj="Def" Min="Def" LN="2353" Fil="" Fun="LogCallback" Uid="50726604" Msg="GetDiskSMARTStatus: Disk does not support SMART failure detection." PID="968" TID="328" Con="" Exe="X:\Sources\setup.exe" Mod="WinSetup.dll" Err="1" MD="" DT="2019-09-03T10:53:11"/>
    <z:row Cls="D" Sev="50331648" Maj="Def" Min="Def" LN="470" Fil="" Fun="UnattendLogWV" Uid="50331648" Msg="[setup.exe] UnattendSearchSetupSourceDrive: Unable to convert ARC path [MULTI(0)DISK(0)CDROM(0)] to NT path; status = 0x80070002." PID="968" TID="1012" Con="" Exe="X:\Sources\setup.exe" Mod="UNATTEND.DLL" Err="0" MD="" DT="2019-09-03T10:53:11"/>
    <z:row Cls="D" Sev="50331648" Maj="diagnostic" Min="Def" LN="94" Fil="" Fun="CAccessWMI::LogErrorMessage" Uid="50790541" Msg="Win32_Processor : CoInitializeEx returned RPC_E_CHANGED_MODE. Continue. Error code = 0x80010106" PID="968" TID="1284" Con="" Exe="X:\Sources\setup.exe" Mod="diagnostic.dll" Err="1168" MD="" DT="2019-09-03T10:53:12"/>
    <z:row Cls="D" Sev="50331648" Maj="diagnostic" Min="Def" LN="94" Fil="" Fun="CAccessWMI::LogErrorMessage" Uid="50790438" Msg="Win32_Processor : Unable to retrieve Stepping, vtType = 8. Error code = 0x0" PID="968" TID="1284" Con="" Exe="X:\Sources\setup.exe" Mod="diagnostic.dll" Err="0" MD="" DT="2019-09-03T10:53:13"/>
    <z:row Cls="D" Sev="50331648" Maj="diagnostic" Min="Def" LN="94" Fil="" Fun="CAccessWMI::LogErrorMessage" Uid="50790438" Msg="Win32_Processor : Unable to retrieve Stepping, vtType = 8. Error code = 0x0" PID="968" TID="1284" Con="" Exe="X:\Sources\setup.exe" Mod="diagnostic.dll" Err="0" MD="" DT="2019-09-03T10:53:21"/>
    
    
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. abbodi1406

    abbodi1406 MDL KB0000001

    Feb 19, 2011
    9,656
    36,360
    300
    setupact.log is the one more useful :)