Why is it important to Validate online?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Alex32, Oct 5, 2010.

  1. Alex32

    Alex32 MDL Novice

    Dec 7, 2008
    22
    0
    0
    #1 Alex32, Oct 5, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2010
    Hi everyone, I just wanted to know why is it important to validate windows 7 online.
    Just suppose that I have activated windows 7 with a loader that the update KB971033 will detect, but just before the the exploit is detected I add "127.0.0.1 validation.sls.microsoft.com" (assuming that 127.0.0.1 is localhost) to my host file.

    So my windows 7 will
    1) stay permanently activated
    2) be able to do all the updates,
    3) not be flagged as non-genuine by the "KB971033" update

    Thus, the only thing that I will not able to do is to validate online.
    When I use the latest MGADIAG.exe, it give me validation code=0 ( Which is meant to be genuine)

    So I just want to know whether this method is okay.

    Alex.
     
  2. FreeStyler

    FreeStyler MDL Guru

    Jun 23, 2007
    3,501
    3,609
    120
    Online validation is only required if the system has being flagged as non-genuine at a earlier stage (example: After using RemoveWat, before switching to Windows Loader)
     
  3. Alex32

    Alex32 MDL Novice

    Dec 7, 2008
    22
    0
    0
    Hmmm Okay I get it. So if you've just installed a BIE windows 7 which is activated by default and that before it is flagged as non-genuine you modify your hosts file so as to block the validation from microsoft site and also from the KB971033 update. Will the system be identical ( I mean in terms of functionality) as a windows 7 system which was activated by DAZ loader and that had passed genuine validation?
     
  4. FreeStyler

    FreeStyler MDL Guru

    Jun 23, 2007
    3,501
    3,609
    120
    Yep same functionality, allthough you might experience problems downloading applications from microsoft.com which require you to install the ActiveX validation control, for example: Windows XP Mode

    Future wise i would suggest you get rid of the BIE OEM activated Windows as with the release of SP1 your BIE installation most likely will be flagged as non-genuine as the KB971033 will be included.
     
  5. Alex32

    Alex32 MDL Novice

    Dec 7, 2008
    22
    0
    0
    Thank you for your answers FreeStyler. Yep I should get rid of my BIE OEM. So for now the best solutions for those who are not willing to buy Windows 7 is either 1) BIOS Mod or 2) Loaders: Daz and Vista7 Slic LDR. But Daz one is more reliable because of the encryption. So as from now let's see how m$ will react concerning these 2 exploits (Bios mod and GLDR encryption) =)
     
  6. Sayonara0

    Sayonara0 MDL Novice

    Aug 1, 2009
    43
    4
    0
    I'm using Chew 1.1, added "127.0.0.1 sls.microsoft.com" and "127.0.0.1 mpa.one.microsoft.com" to my hosts file, but since 2 weeks or so I get a daily message to validate online my Windows copy, but when I check it is always activated.
     
  7. aad809

    aad809 MDL Novice

    Oct 7, 2010
    15
    0
    0
    i have the same prob the only difference is I have used chew 0.9
     
  8. adric

    adric MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    465
    132
    10
    What does BIE stand for?
     
  9. venu

    venu MDL Addicted

    Oct 16, 2009
    894
    99
    30
     
  10. adric

    adric MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    465
    132
    10
    Look, I not only live under a rock, but I'm also dumb. Keep it simple - just spell out what the acronym BIE stands for as mentioned previously by Alex32. I looked at a list of acronym definitions, but I did not see anything that made any sense in the context mentioned by Alex32.
     
  11. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,644
    3,003
    300
    BIE, is just the name of the group that released it, I don't know what it stands for they have been releasing cd/dvd's since xp and every month a new one appears with current hot-fixes e.c.t.
    I would never use one when you can make your own and some people are stupid enough to download them every month end downloading 4GB for the sake of a few hot-fixes :eek:
     
  12. gamepoint

    gamepoint MDL Senior Member

    Jan 4, 2010
    457
    57
    10
    chill dude,,haha..BIE windows is the pre activated windows released by a group "BIE" i dunno what's that supposed to mean...all i know is don't install windows from their copy.Just use official one and use applications created by geniuses here..hehhe
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. gamepoint

    gamepoint MDL Senior Member

    Jan 4, 2010
    457
    57
    10
    #13 gamepoint, Oct 8, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2010
    ahh..i didnt see urie already posted the answer.My bad
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. adric

    adric MDL Senior Member

    Jul 30, 2009
    465
    132
    10
    Thanks folks, appreciate the info. I hope I'll remember it.
     
  15. gamepoint

    gamepoint MDL Senior Member

    Jan 4, 2010
    457
    57
    10
    u r welcome mate..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Phazor

    Phazor MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,145
    517
    60
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...