Will Microsoft Toolkit Activate Windows 10

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by grahamjohnson10, Oct 2, 2014.

  1. grahamjohnson10

    grahamjohnson10 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 5, 2009
    55
    6
    0
    Has anyone tried to activate Windows 10 with Microsoft Toolkit by CODYQX4.

    I wonder if the likes of CODYQX4 and DAZ are working on it yet :)
     
  2. SolidSonicTH

    SolidSonicTH MDL Junior Member

    May 16, 2011
    87
    11
    0
    I think Daz sorta gave up. Windows 8's activation threshold doesn't comply with the activation tricks he was using and it wasn't really worth digging into.

    KMS activation is the current way of easy activation.
     
  3. Wazoo

    Wazoo MDL Senior Member

    Nov 5, 2013
    416
    199
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,211
    14,768
    340
    #4 Tito, Oct 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. CODYQX4

    CODYQX4 MDL Developer

    Sep 4, 2009
    4,801
    44,848
    150
    Completely pointless, because the OS is timebombed to 6 months (roughly the end of 1 KMS activation done today), and the default key is instant activation unlimited, but still timebombed.

    But yes, it will, as the BETA doesn't have changed activation, and it can take old 8.1 preview KMS keys, or 8.1 RTM KMS Keys.

    MS uses their compatibility stuff to lie to my app and claim to be Windows 8.1, so it works as is.

    But TAP Adapter seems broken, just stick with DLL Injection (to my surprise that didn't break in the slightest).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. grahamjohnson10

    grahamjohnson10 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 5, 2009
    55
    6
    0
    Thanks CODYQX4 please could you explain DLL Injection or provide me with a link.
     
  7. CODYQX4

    CODYQX4 MDL Developer

    Sep 4, 2009
    4,801
    44,848
    150
    It is the default option to assist KMS Activation on the latest MTK, to bypass MS not allowing you to KMS Activate from a KMS Server on the same PC.

    Just run MTK 2.5.2, install KMS Key and AutoKMS and it works, but again, this is pointless because you are already activated when you install the TP.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. double_kill

    double_kill MDL Member

    Oct 10, 2011
    100
    4
    10
    maybe what he means is he wants to run it post-timebomb date?
     
  9. CODYQX4

    CODYQX4 MDL Developer

    Sep 4, 2009
    4,801
    44,848
    150
    It isn't going to fix the timebomb at all. You still see the expire date in winver.exe after KMS, and it will still be actively ready to kill your OS install in time.

    They burn that time date into the system. Smorgan acutually showed me one way way back to glitch out a timebomb by removing the spp folder from the wim and something else, but it screwed me over by locking me to 2GB or RAM and god only knows what other side effects.

    It is possible we get new builds pushed through their new system and it extends the date. Maybe we get lucky and they can move us to RTM without FUBAR-ing the whole OS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Smorgan

    Smorgan Glitcher

    Mar 25, 2010
    1,854
    1,029
    60
    #11 Smorgan, Oct 2, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2014
    Ok guys for this timebomb just give up.

    Yes I ran the old glitch that Cody just described but the windows boot loader is digitally signed. That means the signing is the timebomb essentially.

    If you go outside the date (say 2016) then the system will BSOD saying the digital signature for winload.exe is no longer valid. I'll get back to you if I figure out how to get past that. Some of the smart people may ask well what happens if you disable the integrity checking for BCDEdit during the boot up. Well it does boot but all the text for the operating system is gone so we get one really screwed up operating system that is completely impossible to use. I have a few ideas on how to bypass the timebomb but I need a little more time lol.

    Check it out:

    Windows 10 x64-2014-10-01-15-15-16.png

    Also the guys who were looking at disabling the search in the task bar. That fancy thing is called Windows Embedded Search... go luck.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. double_kill

    double_kill MDL Member

    Oct 10, 2011
    100
    4
    10
    "but it screwed me over by locking me to 2GB or RAM and god only knows what other side effects."

    Yikes that sucks, locking to 2gb only? o_O... what is that, punishment for being a "bad boy" ? :p
     
  12. Smorgan

    Smorgan Glitcher

    Mar 25, 2010
    1,854
    1,029
    60
    You might say that lol but it was funny to try out.

    And then we see why I went with the title of Glitcher.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. double_kill

    double_kill MDL Member

    Oct 10, 2011
    100
    4
    10
    heh just now saw the pic... windows looks mighty weird without text :haha:
     
  14. Smorgan

    Smorgan Glitcher

    Mar 25, 2010
    1,854
    1,029
    60
    My best guess on why that happens is that...

    When you boot the OS winload.exe does not function properly to make winlogon.exe trigger. This means Shell32.exe does not load properly either. In other words you get cascading errors across the entire operating system according to what I have listed in my notes. This is probably because the entire bootup process is digitally signed or a significant portion of it is. That being said there is no clean way to get around that.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. double_kill

    double_kill MDL Member

    Oct 10, 2011
    100
    4
    10
    now just to wait for the RTM release or whatever ;)
     
  16. chocoboss

    chocoboss MDL Novice

    Nov 23, 2012
    49
    2
    0
    We have to know what timebomb do ?
    do it just restart all 1H if we use it after the date
    Or totally stuck the os ?

    It is possible to dump memory of the system in a VM ( and physical maybe ), so we can analys how boot process is managed.

    From what I guess it is just a little thing like
    if date > timebombdate
    then stuck the os
    else standard boot

    so we just have to find the switch and bypass it ( then resign it if possible ) :g:
     
  17. Smorgan

    Smorgan Glitcher

    Mar 25, 2010
    1,854
    1,029
    60
    I shall reply with a picture showing a BSOD that you cannot repair...

    Windows 10 x64 Tech Preview-2014-10-02-10-44-55.png
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. SolidSonicTH

    SolidSonicTH MDL Junior Member

    May 16, 2011
    87
    11
    0
    Are there any longterm implications of this or it just something that seems like it'll only matter to the preview builds?
     
  19. chocoboss

    chocoboss MDL Novice

    Nov 23, 2012
    49
    2
    0
    #20 chocoboss, Oct 2, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2014
    Yeah, I have test it, not really good, I will try to replace winload.exe from TP by winload from 8.1. Maybe it can work who know XD

    EDIT : auto-repair ..
    Not working XD