Win 10 Free Digital Entitlement: Allow change between 32/ 64 bit on Fresh OS install?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by crashnburn, Jul 28, 2016.

  1. crashnburn

    crashnburn MDL Senior Member

    Mar 18, 2010
    484
    19
    10
    #1 crashnburn, Jul 28, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2016
    Win 10 Free Digital Entitlement: Allow change between 32/ 64 bit on Fresh OS install?

    Since I had to do this on lot of machines with more or less RAM, and the DE is tied to the Hardware/ HWID, for simiplicity I did a bunch of boxes 32 or 64 using a 32 bit one on spare HDD.

    Also, we would be adding more RAM later so then go from x32 to x64?

    Will this be an issue when we install 64 bit Win 10 OS instead of 32 bit?

    Using this method http://forums.mydigitallife.net/thr...ut-going-through-the-complete-upgrade-process

    I had 32 & 64 bit GatherStateOS.exe from the MCT ISOs, but for simplicity I used the 32 bit ISO and GenuinTicket for all Win 10 DEs. Hope I wont lose out on 64 bit OSes

    Also, sometimes the activation it says:

    - Windows Activated Win 10 Pro

    - 1/2 times on some machines it said:

    - Windows Active with Digital Entitlement

    Why?
     
  2. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,731
    15,277
    340
    #2 Enthousiast, Jul 28, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2016
    HWID will work for both.

    Isn't this all been discussed in manymanymany threads for a whole year now?

    Little tip, link your HWID to your MSA for future use with the activation troubleshooter.
     
  3. crashnburn

    crashnburn MDL Senior Member

    Mar 18, 2010
    484
    19
    10
    Maybe.. But I realized something last night when I was bulk going DEs ... The GatherStateOS process by Yen is simple. But MDL has so much threads and information, that all these things get scattered into discussions and the information is not COLLATED into one place. Sorry. Thanks.

    Also, Just updated one more thing about the ACTIVATION message / Status it showed on various machines. Thoughts?
     
  4. crashnburn

    crashnburn MDL Senior Member

    Mar 18, 2010
    484
    19
    10
    MSA? You mean MS Software Assurance?
    Dont think this small non org has SA.

    Maybe when they are larger or have a legit IT person and some more budget for it. For now, I am the free & commited helper/ volunteer.
     
  5. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,731
    15,277
    340
    You haven't read anything before you ask? MicroSoft Account
     
  6. crashnburn

    crashnburn MDL Senior Member

    Mar 18, 2010
    484
    19
    10
    Haha! Damn.. I thought Microsoft Accounts for the OS are evil. :p

    PS: How does one do that for multiple machines for a small organization so that it can be kept safe & organized? Typical use being 1-to-1 Person to A/C relationship.
    Here' if possible would rather like to collate it somehow as these people lose & forget passwords and IT stuff like its a joke.
     
  7. crashnburn

    crashnburn MDL Senior Member

    Mar 18, 2010
    484
    19
    10
    Also, sometimes the activation it says:

    - Windows Activated Win 10 Pro

    - 1/2 times on some machines it said:

    - Windows Active with Digital Entitlement

    How/ Why/ Anything to be concerned about?
     
  8. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,731
    15,277
    340
    Seems like a 8.1 KMS to 10 upgrade, in that case i would replace the drive with a spare drive and testinstall 10 and see if it says Digital License or DE.
     
  9. crashnburn

    crashnburn MDL Senior Member

    Mar 18, 2010
    484
    19
    10
    Thanks for responding :)

    Nope. Not a single 8.1 KMS on these LEGIT Win 7 Dell Machines

    Only a few 3/4 LEGIT Win 8.1 Dell Machines
     
  10. Bat.1

    Bat.1 MDL Addicted

    Oct 18, 2014
    810
    790
    30
    #10 Bat.1, Jul 28, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2016
    How about running Admin CMD of slmgr /dlv on the ones that don't say Digital :confused: Does it say Retail License and have the 3V66T key :confused: or T83GX
     
  11. crashnburn

    crashnburn MDL Senior Member

    Mar 18, 2010
    484
    19
    10
    I will have to check that tomorrow as slept in the day after an all nighter.. now preparing for tomorrow's machines.
     
  12. gozmon

    gozmon MDL Novice

    Feb 6, 2016
    42
    5
    0
    I dont understand why people keep installing 32bits in the first place, you get zero advantage by doing so
    Its not like its going to be faster on a older computer

    Even if you have 1GB of ram, install the 64bit, it will run at the same speed with the advantage of being 64bit
     
  13. crashnburn

    crashnburn MDL Senior Member

    Mar 18, 2010
    484
    19
    10
    On my SLIC 2.1 X61T - 3V66T - I think most other Dell OEM machines also have the same. Will check and post.
     
  14. Bat.1

    Bat.1 MDL Addicted

    Oct 18, 2014
    810
    790
    30
    If You look two post above Yours for the one with pics by gozmon, it'll show what enthousiast had suggested. The Win 8.1 copies were actually KMS activated

    With the Win 7 copies You're doing now just leave the loader installed. You can also use it to enter the Key from the COA sticker by using "Custom Key"