Win 7 64 SSD & swapfile

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by amanda, Jul 10, 2014.

  1. amanda

    amanda MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2010
    92
    5
    0
    Hello again,

    My computer has 16GB of RAM, do I need a swap file as I am running a SSD so need to conserve space. Currently I am using 97.6 GB, 140 GB free out of 238 GB SSD. I do not use any Adobe software apart from flash player which is installed since I watch a lot of YouTube.

    Thanks to all.
     
  2. Flipp3r

    Flipp3r MDL Expert

    Feb 11, 2009
    1,544
    662
    60
    I'd leave the swap file alone. You could disable Hibernation. From admin command prompt run: powercfg -h off. Then reboot.
    Your system can still got to "sleep"...
     
  3. amanda

    amanda MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2010
    92
    5
    0

    Thanks a lot. I am seeing how the system behaves when set to fixed swap file of 1024 MB. If I get "out of memory" message then I will revert back to original settings (default).
    So if I disable Hibernation, what are the consequences?
     
  4. AbbA

    AbbA MDL Junior Member

    Jun 6, 2010
    69
    12
    0
    @amanda,

    System always active don't sleep.
     
  5. Wazoo

    Wazoo MDL Senior Member

    Nov 5, 2013
    482
    239
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Flipp3r

    Flipp3r MDL Expert

    Feb 11, 2009
    1,544
    662
    60
  7. amanda

    amanda MDL Junior Member

    Nov 5, 2010
    92
    5
    0
    Thanks to all, as it is so nice to see quick & good advice. :D
     
  8. AbbA

    AbbA MDL Junior Member

    Jun 6, 2010
    69
    12
    0
    You computer sleeping? :D