Win 7 USB - Cant install on new Laptop

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by olivespin, Sep 3, 2016.

  1. olivespin

    olivespin MDL Junior Member

    Jan 9, 2010
    67
    2
    0
    I have created Win 7 SP1 USB from my DVD, using the methods mentioned here and elsewhere and also added drivers for USB 3.0 ports.

    But, when I try to install it it simply freezes at windows logo. Tried removing every peripherals but still same issue.

    Then I downloaded pre-made .iso from here,
    https://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/60681-Windows-7-SP1-Media-Refresh-Download-Links

    But, after creating the USB I get a pop-up message stating that software failed to create bootable drive.

    Software: I am using Win 7 download tool to create bootable USB.

    Any help appreciated.

    PS: My laptop is UEFI with only USB 3.0 Ports.
     
  2. Tito

    Tito Super Mod / Adviser
    Staff Member

    Nov 30, 2009
    17,367
    15,012
    340
    @olivespin

    You need to enable CSM/Legacy Mode (actual term may vary), even for UEFI booting.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. olivespin

    olivespin MDL Junior Member

    Jan 9, 2010
    67
    2
    0
    Already done, still cannot boot from USB... (Changed the setting from bios)

    Is it possible that laptop HW simply refuses to install win 7 coz its old ?
     
  4. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,617
    15,063
    340
    When the win 7 USB/DVD tool gives that error message the usb key won't boot.

    Try to format the USB key FAT32 and extract the iso/dvd to it and boot with it.

    The usb3 drivers have to be integrated in boot.wim index 2.
     
  5. atgpud2003

    atgpud2003 MDL Member

    Apr 30, 2015
    185
    25
    10
    I strongly use USB 2.0 stick because, it pretty standard and easier to do the job for Windows 7. I have Windows 7 USB and done for years.. WORKS great..
     
  6. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,617
    15,063
    340
    On a skylake system you need usb3 drivers integrated, at least into boot.wim #2.
     
  7. olivespin

    olivespin MDL Junior Member

    Jan 9, 2010
    67
    2
    0
    ok extracted directly to usb drive (will check if it works after few hours)

    In the meantime, please tellme:
    1] As you know, using .iso from the link above - Does it contain USB 3 drivers. If not, pls tellme what all I need to inject and how....

    2] My laptop came with Win 10 home with digital license and it doesn't have any actual key. Now if I install Win 7 and activate with Daz loader and then if I wana say install Win 10 and use my laptop key - Can I do tht? Would daz loader erase Win 10 key from my mobo ?
     
  8. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,617
    15,063
    340
    #10 Enthousiast, Sep 3, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Not any official win 7 SP1 iso will contain USB3 drivers, you will have to integrate them manually (i will show the command to do it asap).

    Code:
    dism.exe /Mount-WIM /WimFile:"x:\en_windows_7_ultimate_with_sp1_x86_dvd_u_677460\sources\boot.wim" /index:2 /MountDir:"y:\mount"
    
    dism.exe /image:"y:\mount" /Add-Driver /driver:"z:\USB3_Drivers" /recurse
    
    dism.exe /Unmount-wim /mountdir:"y:\mount" /commit
    
    On win 8.x/10 oem systems (windows pre-installed) the key is already embedded in the bios (oem:Dm), and no, daz loader won't delete anything. Be aware, daz loader doesn't work on UEFI/GPT configured systems. If possible, enable the CSM (as Tito said before) to be able to install win 7 SP1 BIOS/MBR and use daz' loader.
     
  9. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    13,617
    15,063
    340
    The instructions were meant as example.
     
  10. Flipp3r

    Flipp3r MDL Expert

    Feb 11, 2009
    1,487
    633
    60
    #14 Flipp3r, Sep 5, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  11. olivespin

    olivespin MDL Junior Member

    Jan 9, 2010
    67
    2
    0
    #15 olivespin, Sep 5, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2016
    (OP)
    Okay, once I booted to Win 10 on my laptop -> Run command prompt as admin -> Run the above code and enter -> Use KMS to activate.

    Have I understood the procedure correctly ?

    I have questions:
    1] Will it permanently activate win 10 pro via MS servers even after re-install OS ?
    2] Cant I change the product key from updates & security -> Activation tab and enter new key ?
    3] Would I be at any point in future use my original W10 home key and activate ?

    PS: I am searching entire forums, and I see some ppl when they re-install revert back to home edition. I think I have to copy some "genuineticket" but cant understand how - Pls can u explain?
     
  12. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,274
    1,223
    90
    #16 Joe C, Sep 9, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2016
    Windows 7 can not be installed with Secure Boot enabled, This Acer switch Alpha 12 might not give you that option in the bios to disable secure boot. I can't find any data without a full model number, It looks like a cross between a tablet and a netbook. You need to look in the bios to see if the option to disable Secure Boot is available for you
    This laptop came with windows 10 and I have heard of some manufactures not giving you the option to disable secure boot, unless you can find a modified bios, which is not likely to happen
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,314
    1,433
    180
    #17 LatinMcG, Sep 10, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2016
    try to copy the efi folder from w10 iso to the w7 usb root.
    also try in cmd as admin

    diskpart
    list disk
    select disk # USB likely disk 1 or 2
    clean
    convert gpt
    create partition primary
    format fs=fat32 quick
    assign
    exit

    now extract w7 iso to it and the efi folder from w8 or w10.
    disable secureboot.