Win 7 x86/x64 system partition size

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by hawke1969, Sep 26, 2009.

  1. hawke1969

    hawke1969 MDL Member

    Aug 17, 2009
    117
    0
    10
    Hello,

    which system partition size should I choose for a gamer PC with 320gb harddisk?

    Any help welcome!

    Sorry for my bad English,

    Regards
     
  2. nlspecial

    nlspecial MDL Novice

    Jun 24, 2008
    45
    0
    0
    for 32bit make a 30gb partition minimum and a minimum of 60gb for 64bit
     
  3. hawke1969

    hawke1969 MDL Member

    Aug 17, 2009
    117
    0
    10
    ok, thanks.

    Other opinions?

    Which OS will make sense for a Gamer PC?
    Home Premium, Prof or Ultimate?

    And which version - x86 or x64 - should be used with 4GB memory installed??

    Regards
     
  4. nlspecial

    nlspecial MDL Novice

    Jun 24, 2008
    45
    0
    0
    everybody has there own opinion but use ultimate, get 64 bit windows for 4gig 32bit will only recognise 3.5gig
     
  5. hawke1969

    hawke1969 MDL Member

    Aug 17, 2009
    117
    0
    10
    ok, which size of system partiton would you personally choose for ultimate x64?
     
  6. Lich King

    Lich King MDL Addicted

    Sep 24, 2009
    500
    24
    30
    for the rquirement of gaming if u've more than 4gb of RAM, install x64..

    and i would personally recomend win7 home premium as it doesn't hv extra unnecesaary features which u don't need :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. hawke1969

    hawke1969 MDL Member

    Aug 17, 2009
    117
    0
    10
    I ve only 4gb of ram, so it is better to install x86 - is this right?
     
  8. iakinthos

    iakinthos MDL Junior Member

    Aug 2, 2009
    89
    0
    0
    I have a partition 35GB for Ultimate x64.
    There, is only the OS and programs.
    I have moved the most User folders where ll be stored datas in other partition.
    Like that, the partition where is the OS running faster.
     
  9. Lich King

    Lich King MDL Addicted

    Sep 24, 2009
    500
    24
    30
    install x86.. it's better.. coz x86 recognizes upto 4gb of RAM..
    and make a partition of 30gb for operating system :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. hawke1969

    hawke1969 MDL Member

    Aug 17, 2009
    117
    0
    10
    Ok,
    but i ve read in the repository that with 4gb ram we should install x64.

    I'm confused now, what will be right:confused:
     
  11. iakinthos

    iakinthos MDL Junior Member

    Aug 2, 2009
    89
    0
    0
    If you have 4GB ram and more is preffered to install an x64 OS
    If you install x86 OS will recognise just 3.5GB of your ram
     
  12. hawke1969

    hawke1969 MDL Member

    Aug 17, 2009
    117
    0
    10
    Yes I understand, so I should install x64?
     
  13. iakinthos

    iakinthos MDL Junior Member

    Aug 2, 2009
    89
    0
    0
    yes install x64;)
     
  14. Lich King

    Lich King MDL Addicted

    Sep 24, 2009
    500
    24
    30
    but microsoft says, x86 recognize upto 4gb of RAM :confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. iakinthos

    iakinthos MDL Junior Member

    Aug 2, 2009
    89
    0
    0
    Where you saw that?
    Can you link me?
     
  16. Lich King

    Lich King MDL Addicted

    Sep 24, 2009
    500
    24
    30
    #16 Lich King, Sep 26, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. iakinthos

    iakinthos MDL Junior Member

    Aug 2, 2009
    89
    0
    0
    #17 iakinthos, Sep 26, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  18. Lich King

    Lich King MDL Addicted

    Sep 24, 2009
    500
    24
    30
    #18 Lich King, Sep 26, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Whiznot

    Whiznot MDL Member

    Nov 5, 2009
    185
    31
    10
    I would not worry too much about partition size. If you should need more space in the future the free Easeus Partition Master can be used to resize. Note that the free version only works on the 32 bit Windows 7. Also for Windows 7 compatibility you must install the most recent version 4.1.1.
     
  20. squee666

    squee666 MDL Novice

    Oct 26, 2009
    35
    2
    0
    32bit is said to read 3.5gb ram because its includes your graphics card memory as ram also and shared memory etc

    say you have 3gb ram and a 512mb graphics card thats all your ram maxxed out on 32bit


    so for example in my case i have 8gb ram and a 1gb graphics card this counts as 9gb ram total

    so get 64bit and use all your memory