Wind xp and slic 2.1

Discussion in 'Windows XP / Older OS' started by ellen, Aug 18, 2009.

  1. ellen

    ellen MDL Member

    Jan 8, 2009
    100
    0
    10
    Hello,

    If you have slic 2.1 in your bios, can you also use it to activate Win XP or do you need something else in your bios as well?
     
  2. siddharth.c

    siddharth.c MDL Novice

    Aug 12, 2009
    15
    0
    0
    If you have an SLIC table in your BIOS, that can only be used to activate Windows Vista or Windows Server 2008 if it is an SLIC 2.0, and if it is SLIC 2.1, it can be used to activate Windows 7 as well. SLIC 2.1 is completely backwards compatible.

    For activating Windows XP, or Windows Server 2003, you will need an SLP 1.0 String inserted in your BIOS, which is nothing but a simple text string in the correct memory address, which Windows reads to verify that your motherboard is made by the specified OEM.

    SLP 1.0 & SLIC 2.1 can co-exist on a single BIOS.

    Read up this post:

     
  3. mcbyte

    mcbyte MDL Junior Member

    Jul 26, 2009
    94
    1
    0
    if you use the awardtool (or ami tool) that automatically modifies a bios file to insert the SLIC2.1, it will also allow injecting the SLP string... so you get a universal bios that oem activates all windows....
     
  4. Michel

    Michel MDL Expert

    Jul 29, 2009
    1,711
    124
    60
    #4 Michel, Aug 18, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2017
  5. ellen

    ellen MDL Member

    Jan 8, 2009
    100
    0
    10
    Thanks a lot!
    I didn't fully understand it, but now it clear.

    So f.e. with HP SLIC 2.1 en HP SLP, you can activate all win versions.
     
  6. Michel

    Michel MDL Expert

    Jul 29, 2009
    1,711
    124
    60
    Yup, but SLP doesnt need to match with SLIC. If you use HP SLIC you can use a Dell SLP or any other you want.
     
  7. ellen

    ellen MDL Member

    Jan 8, 2009
    100
    0
    10
    Thanks :)
    That could be handy if you a Dell oem xp cd at hand and want to use a GP SLIC.
     
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,064
    300
    #8 urie, Aug 19, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
  9. siddharth.c

    siddharth.c MDL Novice

    Aug 12, 2009
    15
    0
    0
    #9 siddharth.c, Aug 19, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Code:
    Windows XP OEMBIOS Test v1.0/168/66 (C) 2007 severach @ msfn forums
    F:Dell System OEMBIOS.CAT CRC=63875D1F
    F:Dell System OEMBIOS.CAT CRC=B6F0EEFD
    These Royalty OEM install CD's should preactivate (SLP) on your system.
    Also, note that you will only need any one of the above SLP Strings in your BIOS, to activate successfully. I don't even know how to insert both honestly.
     
  10. 911medic

    911medic MDL Guru

    Aug 13, 2008
    5,778
    490
    180
    #10 911medic, Aug 19, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 20, 2017
    Uhhhh.......Its the same string.....:D:D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. siddharth.c

    siddharth.c MDL Novice

    Aug 12, 2009
    15
    0
    0
    Lol! Sorry. I meant any one of the OEMBIOS files mentioned may be present. :)
     
  12. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,707
    3,064
    300
    yeah allways has been even on original non modded bios:D