Windows 10 10586.3 and slow login problem

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by MartinMDL, Nov 13, 2015.

1. MartinMDL

MartinMDL MDL Novice

Dec 13, 2012
    Hi guys. Yesterday I successfully upgraded my W10 10240 RTM PRO build to the new 10586.3, everything went fine. Unfortunately though I'm now faced with a problem I didn't have before: the login is kinda slow. The OS is running on an SSD drive so it boots fine and quick, but then it stays for 10-15 seconds (maybe more) on the welcome screen with my name, my avatar and the spinning circle. After browsing the web for some answers I tried everything I could find on the subject, including but not limited to:
    1. switching from an online account (@outlook.com) with a PIN login to a local account with no PIN nor PWD;
    2. disabling all non essential services from startup;
    3. disabling ipv6 from my network card properties;
    4. etc

none of these did the trick. I would also like to add that my background is a series of jpeg images, so no solid-color wallpaper which I read caused some login troubles on windows 7.
    Is there anything else at all that might be the cause of this? I didn't have this problem before, login was blazing fast (desktop would show a couple seconds later after entering my PIN number).
    Any help is much appreciated. Thanks.

2. jeff69dini

jeff69dini MDL Expert

Nov 22, 2008
    after mentioning the slow boot times yesterday, all I got for a reply was get a ssd, so I wouldn;t expect much ;)

3. ChaserLee

ChaserLee MDL Senior Member

Oct 7, 2014
    Well, I have a SSD, and after the upgrade, my login screen displays for about 10 seconds after I scan my fingerprint. After the 10 secs, it goes into the desktop environment, and things are ready to go, including Aida64, which previously took about 10 seconds to load up after entering the desktop.