Windows 10 activation after motherboard change.

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by phazedelta1, Aug 3, 2015.

  1. phazedelta1

    phazedelta1 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 29, 2013
    78
    14
    0
    I can't find this answer anywhere, so i'm asking here before I contact Microsoft. How are we going to reactivate if we have to replace our motherboard? If we have to contact Microsoft, what info are we going to need to provide for the new stuff?


    Thanks for any info you can provide.
     
  2. ReXX

    ReXX MDL Novice

    Oct 22, 2009
    38
    3
    0
    Basically the first year (until 28th july 2016) you have to install Windows 7/8.1 and upgrade from there.
    After that you have to buy a license.
     
  3. phazedelta1

    phazedelta1 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 29, 2013
    78
    14
    0
    I'm going to need a source for that. If that's true, that's going to make a lot of people very upset.
     
  4. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,816
    1,998
    210
    If you'd upgraded from an legal License you own, I do believe that the Phone activation would do the Job if the MB were changed, which maybe not applies for an original OEM License! That said, if you own an original Licenses, keep that infos for in case.....! May you would get more precise infos if you contact Microsoft Support!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. phazedelta1

    phazedelta1 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 29, 2013
    78
    14
    0
    Yes, I upgraded from a legal 8.1 key. I'm going to contact MS later today and find out. I'll reply back with the info i get.
     
  6. murphy78

    murphy78 MDL DISM Enthusiast

    Nov 18, 2012
    6,674
    10,073
    210
    I'm interested to hear what they say as well.
    I already know that phone activation does not work on the upgrade offer activation.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,816
    1,998
    210
    Tested that on my Laptop yesterday! It worked, just was need to have my old Product Key and the HWID and were get an new activation code. Done via the Singapore MS Activation Server via Phone! The problem were that I updated my BIOS of the Laptop upfront and the initial Activatione were gone!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. phazedelta1

    phazedelta1 MDL Junior Member

    Aug 29, 2013
    78
    14
    0
    It was Retail.
     
  9. heartbrake

    heartbrake MDL Novice

    Aug 13, 2013
    45
    2
    0
    I got win 8 on my laptop. My win8 key was stored in bios and it used to automatically activate online after every reinstallation. My MBoard failed and the laptop was in warranty. So the guy bought a new MBoard and hey gave me a document. That document contains a product key which I now have to put everytime I install and activate Win8. The key is no longer in my BIOS. Is is a retail license? When I click on properties of "this pc", I saw OEM is written in my Product ID.
     
  10. mugurelu

    mugurelu MDL Novice

    Apr 19, 2010
    40
    19
    0
    Well, just yesterday I was looking for a response to this situation.
    According to MICROSOFT SOFTWARE LICENSE TERMS:
    " Transfer. The provisions of this section do not apply if you acquired the software as a consumer in Germany or in any of the countries listed on this site (aka.ms/transfer), in which case any transfer of the software to a third party, and the right to use it, must comply with applicable law.
    a.Software preinstalled on device. If you acquired the software preinstalled on a device (and also if you upgraded from software preinstalled on a device), you may transfer the license to use the software directly to another user, only with the licensed device. The transfer must include the software and, if provided with the device, an authentic Windows label including the product key. Before any permitted transfer, the other party must agree that this agreement applies to the transfer and use of the software.
    b.Stand-alone software. If you acquired the software as stand-alone software (and also if you upgraded from software you acquired as stand-alone software), you may transfer the software to another device that belongs to you. You may also transfer the software to a device owned by someone else if (i) you are the first licensed user of the software and (ii) the new user agrees to the terms of this agreement. You may use the backup copy we allow you to make or the media that the software came on to transfer the software. Every time you transfer the software to a new device, you must remove the software from the prior device. You may not transfer the software to share licenses between devices. "

    So IMO if you change the mobo/other big changes - "the lifetime of the device" (as M$ put it) will end. Case in which:
    - if you have a OEM licence and the device died, if don't get it repaired under warranty so to ask for a new licence you'll be left out,
    - if you have a retail licence bought, that can be transferred to a new device with no problem :clap:
     
  11. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,709
    3,066
    300
    update your bios and you lose activation since when never heard of it.
     
  12. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,709
    3,066
    300
    @ mugurelu, retail licence could always be transferred.
     
  13. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,816
    1,998
    210
    #15 pisthai, Aug 3, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2015
    I updated the BIOS with an self modified one! The BIOS just worked file just Windows 10 Pro were deactivated and I think it simply were because of the BIOS change!

    Edit and ad: Those change of the BIOS may had triggers the change of the HWID!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. cengizhan

    cengizhan MDL Senior Member

    Jul 29, 2009
    374
    91
    10
    updating bios breaks activation. i have also experienced this.
     
  15. mockingbird

    mockingbird MDL Member

    Mar 13, 2011
    110
    7
    10
    As I suspected, the "free" upgrade is a temporary activation.

    I'll have to purchase keys like I did with Win8.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Yen

    Yen Admin
    Staff Member

    May 6, 2007
    11,171
    10,931
    340
    It's not different to other licenses. When the 'hardware' changes it sooner or later triggers activation...anyway this is strange a BIOS update should not trigger it unless you change SMBIOS values...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Bezalel

    Bezalel MDL Member

    Apr 30, 2012
    230
    23
    10
    When an in warranty MB is replaced outside the factory, the OEM-DM key is exchanged for an OEM-COA key. You still have an OEM license.
     
  18. Yemble

    Yemble MDL Novice

    Aug 16, 2009
    21
    5
    0
    KMSPico :p