Windows 10 asking to activate again ?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by soamz, Aug 29, 2015.

  1. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    I had windows 7 ultimate licensed, which I had upgraded to Windows 10 Pro 3 weeks back.

    Last week, my house got stuck with lightning and my SMPS and Motherboard both gave up.

    I just replaced both of them and now I see on the desktop bottom right, it shows,

    Activate Windows
    Goto Settings to Activate Windows


    If I goto system properties, it says, Windows Not activated
    If I click on activate, it says, try later.

    Whats wrong ?

    Why is it again asking to activate, when I already have a licensed version ?
     
  2. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,789
    1,100
    120
    Because you had a change of hardware that's why
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    Okay, so how to tell microsoft its good to go ?
    I hope they dont ask me to purchase it again!
    Because, its not justified.
     
  4. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,789
    1,100
    120
    That is a good question we already new that the license is hardware subscripted but how to get reactivated I don't realy know perhaps you have to do an install of windows 7 again and upgrade to 10 for a new license for your pc ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    What to do now ?
     
  6. nosense

    nosense MDL Senior Member

    Sep 9, 2013
    298
    34
    10
    Call Microsoft.
     
  7. fkar

    fkar MDL Recognized Advisor

    Nov 3, 2012
    1,576
    1,397
    60
    As endbase suggested, perform a reinstallation of Windows 7 again and upgrade to 10.
     
  8. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    I dont have the Windows 7 key with me now.
    I had actually installed windows 7 and activated as online which was detected by hardware ID.

    Now Im lost!
     
  9. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10
    I dont have an extra Windows 8.1 License key.
    So install Windows 8.1 with that key and then upgrade to 10 again ?

    But that will lose all of my installed apps and C drive completely ?
     
  10. fkar

    fkar MDL Recognized Advisor

    Nov 3, 2012
    1,576
    1,397
    60
    Use DAZ's Windows Loader to gain permanent activation of Windows 7 and upgrade to 10.

    http://forums.mydigitallife.net/threads/58464

    Mirror Download link is in my signature.
     
  11. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10

    Looks like, anyways Im going to lose my all apps and data of C ?
     
  12. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,789
    1,100
    120
    Make backup maybe ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. soamz

    soamz MDL Senior Member

    Mar 12, 2011
    282
    5
    10

    I can reinstall them, but what about the licensed apps like NOD32 ?
    Will it accept the same license when I reinstall windows 10 ?
     
  14. endbase

    endbase MDL Guru

    Aug 12, 2012
    3,789
    1,100
    120
    Depends on If the program is registered to an hardware id ! If not It will be no Problem :tea:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,709
    3,066
    300
    Back up your current unlicensed windows 10 system to external drive. Format and reinstall windows 7 and activate using daz loader then update to windows 10 make sure it is same version you had on before once 10 is activated restore using your backup.
     
  16. chris34

    chris34 MDL Member

    Oct 28, 2009
    188
    49
    10
    #16 chris34, Aug 29, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2015
    Yes, your antivirus doesn't have the same licensing terms as your operating system. You should quickly read your OS and your other software licensing Q&A, you'll see the difference.
    If you run into any problem, it's best to ask directly the <brand> software support rather than some forum/bbs that, directly, have nothing to do with the given brand. Companies usually have procedures to follow for the issue you describe. That is if your Windows 7 was legitimately registered/activated.

    If you don't want to use the Daz loader to activate your Windows 7, reinstall Windows 7 activate it with your old legit serial/key using the phone activation and redo the upgrade process.
     
  17. Slamtilt

    Slamtilt MDL Novice

    Jul 10, 2014
    19
    0
    0
    Install 7 or 8, activate, and upgrade to Win 10 on another drive, if you have one. After the hardware is activated by MS you can remove the drive and put your old Win 10 system drive back in. Be aware that techs usually recommend a fresh install of the operating system when the motherboard is changed.
     
  18. Joe C

    Joe C MDL Guru

    Jan 12, 2012
    2,470
    1,338
    90
    Your Windows 10 license is only for the life of your pc, It got killed when it got zapped. If this happens again next year, you'll have to purchase a license, because your motherboard will be dead again
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Dolorous Edd

    Dolorous Edd MDL Expert

    Aug 31, 2009
    1,054
    194
    60
    Call Microsoft, tell them what happened. See if they help you. Many of us are curious about how they will respond to major hardware changes.

    If they will not activate you over the phone then you will have to install 7 SP1 or 8.1 and then upgrade again.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. Snuffy

    Snuffy MDL Expert

    Jan 7, 2008
    1,197
    594
    60
    Several KMS programs will activate and pass MS check and you still get all updates, & upgrades.