Windows 10 Enterprise N 2016 LTSB X64

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Sleeping_Lion, Feb 13, 2017.

  1. Sleeping_Lion

    Sleeping_Lion MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2014
    77
    4
    0
    #1 Sleeping_Lion, Feb 13, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2017
    can i run most of games on Windows 10 Enterprise N 2016 LTSB X64 ??
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Espionage724

    Espionage724 MDL Addicted

    Nov 7, 2009
    903
    256
    30
    I can't speak for N, but I haven't found anything that doesn't run on LTSB.

    I imagine N might affect things that need media playback capabilities (I think you can also install a media pack to fix those), but you're better off waiting for someone who knows more about that to reply :p
     
  3. shhnedo

    shhnedo MDL Member

    Mar 20, 2011
    246
    169
    10
    You can run any game on any edition, be it N or non-N. If you don't need windows media stuff in general, then you're perfectly fine with windows N edition, you won't run into any problems.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. iFlaX

    iFlaX MDL Member

    Apr 10, 2015
    176
    106
    10
    Some games (very few) for some reason requires Media Features. If you're also using software like Nvidia Shadowplay, not sure what you need for AMD's Relive. you also need Media Features. Simple fix by installing Media Pack from MS.
     
  5. Sleeping_Lion

    Sleeping_Lion MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2014
    77
    4
    0
    thankyoou so much guys..i prefer n because i never used windows media pack.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. CHEF-KOCH

    CHEF-KOCH MDL Addicted

    Jan 7, 2008
    941
    878
    30
    Only limitation you really will notice it that you need the windows media pack because e.g. if you want to mount your e.g. Android it requires this, otherwise it can't see/scan your media/sdcard.
     
  7. Sleeping_Lion

    Sleeping_Lion MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2014
    77
    4
    0
    i confused..u says if i insert sd card,windows cant recognised ??
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. mwnn

    mwnn MDL Novice

    Mar 29, 2013
    12
    4
    0
    #8 mwnn, Feb 13, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2017
    I haven't come across any games that don't work on LTSB either.

    Grand Theft Auto 5 was one particular game which required the Media Features Pack to be installed with N editions.

    Starcraft, Diablo II are working. Warcraft 3 has broken videos atm (codec problem on x64 - due to be fixed)

    GoG have got a massive selection of classic games which are mostly all working; Thief; even old Dark Forces 2 Jedi Knight.

    There's open source versions of Red Alert - openRA - and other similar projects like openXCOM.

    Pretty good for the most part.


    There's the usual problem of some older early DirectX games no longer working/crashing/glitching on Windows 10 - usually DirectDraw is to blame.

    Even GoG can't get some of those working perfectly =\

    Getting more familiar with Linux is one of my goals.
     
  9. Sleeping_Lion

    Sleeping_Lion MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2014
    77
    4
    0
    going to install..tell my experience after 1-2 days :biggrin:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    14,332
    16,307
    340
    The N version isn't developed as a feature but MSFT got forced to create them by the EU because they didn't want MSFT to include mediaplayer and other media features.
     
  11. Tiger-1

    Tiger-1 MDL Guru

    Oct 18, 2014
    2,839
    2,883
    90
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Sleeping_Lion

    Sleeping_Lion MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2014
    77
    4
    0
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Sleeping_Lion

    Sleeping_Lion MDL Junior Member

    May 13, 2014
    77
    4
    0
    offtopic But i cant able to open .jpg file..why ?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. Tiger-1

    Tiger-1 MDL Guru

    Oct 18, 2014
    2,839
    2,883
    90
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. shhnedo

    shhnedo MDL Member

    Mar 20, 2011
    246
    169
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. CHEF-KOCH

    CHEF-KOCH MDL Addicted

    Jan 7, 2008
    941
    878
    30
    No SDcard works fine, but the Android devide (internal memory card) will not visible since it requires the media pack.
     
  17. tonto11

    tonto11 MDL Addicted

    Jun 18, 2012
    590
    259
    30
    I don't get it. Running Win10EnterpriseLTSB2016 here with no media pack.
    In the interest of science, plugged my Galaxy s4 into my E5430, it loaded some drivers
    explorer showed the phone and it's sd card
    and I viewed some pictures on the card with iview, my default viewer

    I don't see any limitation

    ...T
     
  18. iFlaX

    iFlaX MDL Member

    Apr 10, 2015
    176
    106
    10
    That's because Enterprise LTSB already have the Media Features. We're talking Enterprise N LTSB.