Windows 10 Event Logs

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Palladin, Mar 31, 2023.

1. Palladin

Palladin MDL Senior Member

Feb 1, 2014
    #1 Palladin, Mar 31, 2023
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2023

Attached Files:

2. KMPLAYER

KMPLAYER MDL Junior Member

Jan 12, 2014
    I have been using the same cleaner for several years. Until recently I used it on Windows 7.

Now I use it on Windows 10.

3. acer-5100

acer-5100 MDL Guru

Dec 8, 2018
    Used it as well, but I find more effective to delete the content of

C:\Windows\System32\winevt\Logs

From a parallel system, which allows me to recover GBs of space, deleting also the content of

\windows\logs

\windows\system32\logs

\windows\system32\sru

\windows\system32\wdi

and so on

Dual boot is always the best things to do, unless you are in production and a server can't be offline even for few minutes.

4. windsman

windsman MDL Expert

Jan 11, 2010
    Powershell command here :
    Code:
    Get-EventLog -LogName * | ForEach { Clear-EventLog $_.Log }

5. hoak

hoak MDL Member

Nov 13, 2009
    #5 hoak, Apr 12, 2023
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2023
    If everything is working, I've always just disabled the Windows Event Log service, as you can always reenable it if you need to troubleshoot anything. Stopping this service also disables the creation of logs in:

C:\Windows\System32\winevt\Logs
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows Defender\Scans\History
    C:\Windows\System32\LogFiles\WMI

And not only lets you delete most of the log files in these locations it completely disables the creation of these log files until you reenable the service, which if you do the math on how much these logs are written to, is a lot of completely unnecessary SSD wear, and and background i/o.

I've experienced no ill effects from disabling this service what-so-ever, your milage may vary, but it's easy to re-enable if needed.