Windows 10 Home to Pro

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by boscru6469, Apr 6, 2018.

  1. boscru6469

    boscru6469 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 9, 2012
    254
    62
    10
    I have a Dell laptop that came with Windows 10 Home. I was trying to upgrade to 10 Pro. I downgraded to 7 Pro using the Multi-OEM project disk. It was activated with the Dell certificate. I then used the media creation tool to upgrade to Windows 10 pro but it installed 10 Home. Is there anyway to do this properly?
     
  2. xuxindong991217

    xuxindong991217 MDL Junior Member

    Jan 21, 2017
    74
    9
    0
    You can use windows 10 pro key to upgrade windows 10 pro
     
  3. boscru6469

    boscru6469 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 9, 2012
    254
    62
    10
    Is that key something I can find here?
     
  4. s1ave77

    s1ave77 Has left at his own request

    Aug 15, 2012
    16,111
    24,349
    340
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. s1ave77

    s1ave77 Has left at his own request

    Aug 15, 2012
    16,111
    24,349
    340
    Yep. Would assume you didn't save the genuineticket. So either create one again on a Win 7 Pro or use KMS activation.

    When you upgrade with default ISO it will mostly use the MSDM key to upgrade to Home in your case. You'd need a ISO with an ei.cfg added to avoid that and upgrade to Pro directly.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. boscru6469

    boscru6469 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 9, 2012
    254
    62
    10
    I think I know what you mean. I need to Reinstall W7 pro, use the gatherosstate to get the genuine ticket, do a clean install of W10 pro with pro ei.cfg and manually put the genuine ticket in C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\ClipSVC\GenuineTicket\. I think this is what you mean.
     
  7. s1ave77

    s1ave77 Has left at his own request

    Aug 15, 2012
    16,111
    24,349
    340
    That would be the way.

    Default ei.cfg (would go into \sources\ folder of the ISO):
    Code:
    [Channel]
    _Default
     
    [VL]
    0
    
    The genuineticket can also be directly applied. Place the XML in root of drive c:\ and in admin CMD:
    Code:
    clipup -v -o -altto c:\
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. boscru6469

    boscru6469 MDL Senior Member

    Jan 9, 2012
    254
    62
    10
    Worked perfectly. Thanks for the help.
     
  9. ShortFuse

    ShortFuse MDL Novice

    Jan 9, 2009
    21
    3
    0
    For posterity, you need to be offline to enter the License Key listed above. If you try while online, it won't let you proceed since the key wouldn't be able to be activated.
     
  10. TopGeartm

    TopGeartm MDL Novice

    Mar 1, 2012
    1
    0
    0
    would someone be able to point me in the right direction. I have a new laptop that came with windows 10 home edition. i tried installing windows 7 but it wont install to go via the upgrade route to windows 10 pro. The bios wont support install of widows 7. What are the options available to me to go from home to pro on windows 10
     
  11. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    42,916
    79,032
    450
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. maxama123

    maxama123 MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2009
    447
    152
    10
    Can some one please confirm the below?

    I bought a new Dell laptop with Windows 10 Home. If I disconnect from the internet and upgrade using the VK7JG upgrade to Pro key, then KMS activate using one of the KMS tool on this forum (i.e..OfficerRTool) , this will work?
     
  13. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    42,916
    79,032
    450
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. EddieXxX

    EddieXxX MDL Novice

    Nov 12, 2015
    5
    0
    0
    #15 EddieXxX, Oct 2, 2022
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2022
    Hi,

    i used the serial and it updated a home version to Pro while disconnected. I wonder, will it keep working or will I loose access to the laptop after a while? (its "just" an old laptop for my media server with Plex)

    Is the only way to get a functioning W10 now to re-install W7 and use the old "trick" daz? and then go back to 10?
    Regards
     
  15. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Guru

    Nov 26, 2012
    3,071
    1,186
    120
    Anything will not blocked, but now you have an unactivated Pro.
    It doesn't matter how you activate it, but you have to activate it again now.
    If you don't have any unused W7, W8, W8.1 or W10 keys, use anything like massgravel or what ever another method and everything will be done.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    42,916
    79,032
    450
    Check my sig for MAS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...