windows 10 inbuilt antivirus

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by centuryold, Nov 7, 2020.

1. centuryold

centuryold MDL Novice

Nov 7, 2020
    Hey guys,
    I'm new to windows. Been using mac for the last 7 years and the last windows system i used was windows 7. So, i want to know that is the inbuilt windows defender enough for the virus and malware protection? or shall i need to install separate antivirus software.
    I know for the internet security but I'm concerned about the malwares and trojans mainly.
    Thanks in advance

2. Windows_Addict

Windows_Addict MDL Expert

Jul 19, 2018
    #2 Windows_Addict, Nov 7, 2020
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2020
    Before you make a decision, just know that a batch script can disable the whole WD protection without any kind of alerts or admin prompts, which is something we can't do with other AV's (at least not with such an easy process). Check this for details.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. kaljukass

kaljukass MDL Guru

Nov 26, 2012
    #3 kaljukass, Nov 7, 2020
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2020
    In reality, it's even many times more than what you actually need.
    True, in reality, you never need any antivirus.
    At least none of what has been offered for decades and is still offered to you.
    None of them has ever protected anyone from anything.
    They simply don't work, even can't work.
    But in the end, it's up to You to decide what kind of God You believe in and what You use or don't use.
    I tested everything available for about 10 years and then realized that they were pointless. I haven't used any for about 15 years now and I've never seen any viruses. Also, have ever met anyone who has ever met a virus in their lifetime.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. nosirrahx

nosirrahx MDL Expert

Nov 7, 2017