Windows 10 Pro x64 start menu not functioning?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by yro, Jul 22, 2016.

  1. yro

    yro MDL Senior Member

    Jul 26, 2009
    476
    82
    10
    Hi all.

    I have a problem and I would like to ask for some help.

    Im running latest rtm build of windows 10 pro x64 (updated) on one of my homes machines. Yesterday the start menu (the hole menu with clock, action center, network, sound icons, etc) stop working. I click in any of these icons and nothing happens.

    The right click still works.

    Does anyone knows whata hell is going on?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,539
    4,989
    210
    Try running in Cmd Prompt sfc /scannow
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Daz

    Daz MDL Developer / Admin
    Staff Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,490
    66,577
    300
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Addicted

    Nov 26, 2012
    931
    315
    30
    :bomb: Surely You did not use any of the (maybe unknown) registry cleaners, where is allowed to delete the empty keys?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. yro

    yro MDL Senior Member

    Jul 26, 2009
    476
    82
    10
    I already did the scan thing and the probkem continues.

    Ill try the tool provides by daz. Daz is this an microsoft official script? what dois it do?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. Daz

    Daz MDL Developer / Admin
    Staff Member

    Jul 31, 2009
    9,490
    66,577
    300
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. dobbelina

    dobbelina MDL Senior Member

    Apr 2, 2009
    425
    509
    10
  8. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Addicted

    Nov 26, 2012
    931
    315
    30
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Garbellano

    Garbellano MDL Addicted

    Aug 13, 2012
    948
    246
    30
    Just ask to cortana :biggrin:
     
  10. dobbelina

    dobbelina MDL Senior Member

    Apr 2, 2009
    425
    509
    10
    Cause then he had to format his harddrive lol! :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. hb860

    hb860 MDL Addicted

    May 7, 2010
    996
    1,808
    30
    +1 for Classic Shell
    Best Start menu replacement for Windows 10.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,318
    120
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. MacAddict01

    MacAddict01 MDL Member

    Mar 3, 2011
    149
    20
    10
    Agree with you all. Classic Shell works great and far more intuitive for most people to use. I find it more stable as well.
     
  14. yro

    yro MDL Senior Member

    Jul 26, 2009
    476
    82
    10
    classic shell is a crap, but thanks for the tips.

    anyway, I dont know what did the trick here but I did:

    * Run the troubleshotting tool from Microsoft;
    * Run the sfc /scannow ;
    * Clean everything possible with CCleaner;
    * Removed some apps I dont like/dont use;
    * Clean system files (temp, cookies, windows update, etc., with the windows cleaning tool);
    * Reboot the computer.

    All is running great again. Thanks for the tips.

    Edit.: I really enjoy the windows 10 start menu :p
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. lobo11

    lobo11 TOMAHAWK CHOP

    Feb 16, 2012
    6,539
    4,989
    210
    May I ask why you are doing all this when major upgrade is on the way, you are clean installing, right:confused:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. dhjohns

    dhjohns MDL Guru

    Sep 5, 2013
    3,276
    1,731
    120
    You got that right! The Windows 10 Start Menu not only looks great, but is a JOY to use!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,318
    120


    After this I can say you deserve a not working start menu.:D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. yro

    yro MDL Senior Member

    Jul 26, 2009
    476
    82
    10
    to learn and get used to the modifications we can do on windows 10 and things like it... the "messing to learn" aproach I guess.. :) and its been funny..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. Hunted

    Hunted MDL Novice

    Dec 25, 2007
    4
    0
    0
    #19 Hunted, Jan 5, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2017
    Hi all,

    Also had a PC that had this problem and what fixed it for me was to run CCleaner, as mentioned above, and Windows repair v3.9.21 from Tweaking.com .. The repair takes a while so give it some chance to do its thing. Been trying all sorts of reg edits, powershell commands and so forth.

    Download it and get your start menu back.:clap:
     
  20. wazzock

    wazzock MDL Senior Member

    Oct 22, 2016
    340
    185
    10
    you been on the mushrooms again? :confused:

    it sucks monkey balls and disabling a service or 2 kills it. i can use 10 without it and miss it like i miss a dose of the clap :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...