Windows 10, RS1... Again. Something & someWAT

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Full inu, Jul 9, 2016.

  1. Full inu

    Full inu MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2015
    487
    125
    10
    After upgrading to latest build 14383, it deletes Classic Shell and refuses to install it until i download latest beta version of it. Also SPTD driver was disabled - i have to download latest version of it, but! There's more! Daemon tools lite, good ol' 4.0 version was suspended. New versions also was not allowed to work. So i ended with SPTD driver + illegal Alcohol 120% installation. I have no choice!

    And finally, after several reassociatings of filetypes Windows was gladly informated me, so that abandoned *.flac MIME type was assocoated with its Groove app.
    Windows-chan, i never asked you for this :)
     
  2. Full inu

    Full inu MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2015
    487
    125
    10
  3. TONSCHUH

    TONSCHUH MDL Addicted

    Jun 11, 2012
    813
    278
    30
    Who needs Daemon Tools these days ?

    :confused:
     
  4. Full inu

    Full inu MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2015
    487
    125
    10
    Me, for uncracked games with safedisk guard enabled and etc.
     
  5. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    15,528
    18,668
    340
    Somewhere on the board i've read a thread how to use the sptd and daemontools, i can't find it now but a good search would help you.
     
  6. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120

    Just rename the installer.

    Anyway classic shell, if previously installed, fixes itself on the first logon after the upgrade.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Full inu

    Full inu MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2015
    487
    125
    10
    Nope, it doesn't work.
    Nope.
    I barely can believe this is truth - and i seen it by myself :) just read tags from this topic :biggrin:
    Maybe this is only because this is preview build... Nah, never intended to let Windows decide, what program may harm her :)
     
  8. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120
    W10 does that since the first builds, it removes classic shell, the windows gadget and so on, but the installers are smart enough to repair the installation.

    I'm on 383 and classic shell is alive and ciking, no manual intervention other than the ok on the UAC prompt.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Full inu

    Full inu MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2015
    487
    125
    10
    You are using beta version of CS, isn't it?
    :tea:
     
  10. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120

    I'm on 4.2.6, which was the last version available a couple of months ago.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Full inu

    Full inu MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2015
    487
    125
    10

    Exactly.
    Btw, latest current beta is 4.2.7, but that's not the main problem.
    Windows forces me to upgrade not only itself, but my software. Even if i stop upgrading on selected version.
     
  12. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    15,528
    18,668
    340
    Maybe the developers of your desired software should put more effort in making the software evolve with the windows development, it really should be a symbiotic relationship.
     
  13. Full inu

    Full inu MDL Senior Member

    Jun 9, 2015
    487
    125
    10
    There is a problem, latest versions of Daemon Tools Lite and Comodo Firewall are bloatwared/full of reklama and have cut down majority of their functions. I prefer old versions,that works perfect with 7 and early versions of 10.
     
  14. BrianCohen

    BrianCohen Guest

    i have removed over 6.5gb of drek from w7 64. its still as usuable as it was with all that crap. :D
     
  15. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,316
    120
    #15 T-S, Jul 10, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2016

    MS is apeing the Archlinux model, there each time you do a pacman -Syu everithing is updated, and some of the programs MUST be updated because of kernel changes or alike.

    Windows would do exactly the same thing, theorectically.

    Practically that behavior works well taking in account the OS and the Maetro apps. The desktop programs must follow by their own.

    That said, Archlinux isn't normally used on servers for a reason, Its a moving target that copes very well the Desktop use, but isn't stable enough to run a server.

    That's why there are the linux LTS releases, that's why MS aped also that, releasing the LTSB/Enterprise S flavours.

    Use them if for you the stability is more important than the bleeding edge SW.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  16. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    15,528
    18,668
    340
    Then your personal choice create the problem, not windows and not the software developers.