Windows 10 start button issue

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by foldonce, Apr 25, 2016.

  1. foldonce

    foldonce MDL Junior Member

    Apr 29, 2014
    70
    8
    0
    I'm not quite sure on what happened with my Desktop computer but is there any fix for this? The start button is not showing.. I tried clicking and pressing the windows button and it's really not working.

    As of now: I followed the old thread and used Classic Shell.
     
  2. pisthai

    pisthai Imperfect Human

    Jul 29, 2009
    6,861
    2,029
    210
    Maybe you should try to repair your installation! There several methods available and some may works well!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Rusty69

    Rusty69 MDL Novice

    Aug 21, 2015
    12
    3
    0
    This seems to be a very common (if not popular) problem with systems that were upgraded to Win10

    pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/how-fix-start-menu-in-windows-10-3623893/

    (sorry, I'm still not allowed to post links)

    I've used the third method [FONT=noto_sansbold]"How to fix the Start menu and Cortana in Windows 10: Use the Command Line"
    several times with good results.
    [/FONT]
     
  4. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,318
    120
    #4 T-S, Apr 26, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2016
    Aside that classic shell is way better than the useless stock start menu, to fix it just create another admonistrative account and delete the corrupted tiles db from the affected user account
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Addicted

    Nov 26, 2012
    931
    315
    30
    This is outdated information.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. kaljukass

    kaljukass MDL Addicted

    Nov 26, 2012
    931
    315
    30
    The problem is not user account, just a Windows is corrupted.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,318
    120
    Who said that?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    16,847
    21,189
    340
    ;):D Had to do it :D
     
  9. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,318
    120

    Naaa...

    While that's true in 99.99% of the situations, the startt button problem has little to do with the user. It's a poor design from MS. A poor design that has yet to be fixed after almost two years (it's a really well known problem since the first betas provided with the ugly xaml start button)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    16,847
    21,189
    340
    No problems with the start button overhere ;) not on any of systems i service (i would have been called all the time) :D
     
  11. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,318
    120

    Just search here, sometime there was a message every ten that asked about it.

    Although I don't care, because I use Classic Shell I faced that myself three or four times since the first W10 installation.

    Soetimes the problem happens randomly, sometimes it happen doing in place upgrades.

    Luckily is easy to fix, if one knows how.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,431
    1,486
    180
    ive fixed it via windows repair tool from tweaking.com in smwn.
    then if still persists.. reupgrade with mediacreation tool exe
     
  13. uffbros

    uffbros MDL Senior Member

    Aug 9, 2010
    334
    26
    10
    What is smwn?
     
  14. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,431
    1,486
    180
    safemode with networking.. sorry abreviation we use at work.
     
  15. uffbros

    uffbros MDL Senior Member

    Aug 9, 2010
    334
    26
    10
    Then what entry do you use in tweaking .com repair tool?????
     
  16. LatinMcG

    LatinMcG Bios Borker

    Feb 27, 2011
    5,431
    1,486
    180
    defaults is fine
     
  17. foldonce

    foldonce MDL Junior Member

    Apr 29, 2014
    70
    8
    0
    Appreciate it

    While I appreciate your Enthusiasm, I believe that it's not my fault. I did everything that I know of and did a search before I post my problem here. It's true that the suggested fix on running some commands and stuff is outdated. I also did manage to create another administrative user profile as suggested and was not quite sure on which path to take. (I'm quite sure this was the fix, was not sure on what to copy or so). Thank you!
     
  18. foldonce

    foldonce MDL Junior Member

    Apr 29, 2014
    70
    8
    0
    #18 foldonce, Apr 28, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2016
    (OP)


    Thank you for your detailed response, I really do appreciate it. I've been using this Win10 for quite a while now (Like a year? not sure though) and this happened recently. By any chance you know what triggers this error?
     
  19. foldonce

    foldonce MDL Junior Member

    Apr 29, 2014
    70
    8
    0
    Update: It's not only the Start button but the task bar, tray, etc. Some parts of it. It's not showing-up like the start button when clicked. I haven't tried the fixes that's being suggested, resorted to Win10 Refresh. It's now fixed, re-installation of apps is a hassle though.

    Thank you so much for the response. :worthy:
     
  20. T-S

    T-S MDL Guru

    Dec 14, 2012
    3,988
    1,318
    120

    Why you din't try the in place upgrade first?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...