Windows 2012 R2 Essentials on Dell 2950

Discussion in 'Windows Server' started by rmilyard, Feb 22, 2015.

1. rmilyard

rmilyard MDL Novice

Feb 22, 2015
    Hello all,

I am new to the forums and can really use some help. I purchased a bare steel Dell 2950 with 2 quad 2ghz CPUs and 8gb of ram. I also has (3) 73gb SAS drives in RAID5 right now.

I am pretty new to Dell servers and Windows 2012 R2. I would like to setup an Essentials server at home to testing and learning.

Someone had installed the Eval version of Essentials but after running KMSpico I found I can't do that. I would like to get a full retail version for now to try out. What torrent or etc should I be downloading? Also if anyone has knowledge with Dell server what Dell software should I be installing? Someone told me all I need is the Dell Server Update Utility, v.14.12.200.61 is that right? Also should I install Openmanage and where is that? I am finding the Dell site hard to find anything.

Any help would be GREAT!

2. Threat

Threat Lord of the Files

Feb 23, 2014
    I have a Dell 2950 also. I personally like patching these with the SLIC 2.3 bios and then using the Dell OEM key and certs for permement activation. This works fine for Windows Server 2012 R2 Std (DataCenter is the same as Std in reality - just licenced for unlimited VM's in Hyper-V so you don't need a DC key, just a STD one)

If it's just for learning I would not recommend essentials as it's just got limits on and other packages bundled in. Most tutorials are based on Windows 2012 R2 Standard / DC instead so just use that. Better to learn with the freedom of installing the bits you need rather than the limits of Essentials.

I also never bothered with the Dell software like OpenManage if you server is a home server for study.

3. rmilyard

rmilyard MDL Novice

Feb 22, 2015