Windows 7 32 bit on Socket A, is it possible?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by patkim, Sep 7, 2018.

  1. patkim

    patkim MDL Novice

    Sep 26, 2016
    38
    10
    0
    Hi,

    I have a Desktop PC that I had assembled way back in 2005. It still works fine. I just upgraded RAM to 1GB DDR1 and replaced the PSU sometime back. I rarely use it though, but it still works.

    It’s AMD Socket A Athlon XP CPU. Biostar M7NCG400 mobo.

    Now there are hardly any references on the internet about this CPU & board. However my question is, has anyone attempted to load Windows 7 32 Bit on this or any other Socket A CPU & Board. Does it load and install fine?

    Mobo has drivers released only up to Windows XP.

    I am going to try soon, but this is just to check if anyone ever attempted it and was successful.
     
  2. Ocygord

    Ocygord MDL Senior Member

    May 26, 2011
    275
    88
    10
    The OS will work OK but all depends on what you intend to do with it.
    For playing games: NO
    As a server: NO
    For office use: maybe
     
  3. patkim

    patkim MDL Novice

    Sep 26, 2016
    38
    10
    0
    Yes, it's just a tryout before eventually I throw away the very old PC in e-waste!! I am just keen to explore if it would work.
    Even if it detects the on board LAN, USB & VGA that should suffice.
     
  4. Enthousiast

    Enthousiast MDL Tester

    Oct 30, 2009
    17,412
    22,173
    340
    Big chance win 7 will have the drivers for at least USB (w7 supports USB1 and 2 natively) and LAN, the vga driver maybe onboard too (or by WU), but you can always check the vga chip manufacturer website for drivers.
     
  5. shhnedo

    shhnedo MDL Senior Member

    Mar 20, 2011
    304
    243
    10
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. shhnedo

    shhnedo MDL Senior Member

    Mar 20, 2011
    304
    243
    10
    AFAIK, everything P4 / Athlon XP or older will have problems with the latest updates due to SSE2. That's why i posed the dec2017 pack.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. TigTex

    TigTex MDL Member

    Oct 5, 2009
    125
    88
    10
    All pentium 4's have SSE2, including the socket 478, it's only the Athlon XP and pentium 3 or older that have issues. With those cpu's, linux should be a better choice or use an outdated windows 7 system
     
  8. Ocygord

    Ocygord MDL Senior Member

    May 26, 2011
    275
    88
    10
    So any CPU without SSE2 will not be able to get updates anymore?
    And any new version of Simplix beyond UpdatePack7R2-17.12.15 will not work anymore?

    That's.. very sad. I had no idea. Boy, they really do screw us every year.
     
  9. Carlos Detweiller

    Carlos Detweiller MDL Spinning Tortoise

    Dec 21, 2012
    2,568
    2,236
    90
    Well, even XP updates require SSE2 now, it seems.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. Ocygord

    Ocygord MDL Senior Member

    May 26, 2011
    275
    88
    10
    I find it repugnant that Microsoft would weasel out of the deal like this. The support for Windows 7 ends on January 14, 2020. The agreement was that Windows 7 would be supported until that date, regardless of SSE2 or without. It's a binding contract - and they just broke it.
    So as long as a machine passes the minimum requirements of Windows 7, then it must be supported until the end date.
     
  11. Carlos Detweiller

    Carlos Detweiller MDL Spinning Tortoise

    Dec 21, 2012
    2,568
    2,236
    90
    The SSE2 problem is not with Intel. But even Athlon XP (not that old actually) which can run Windows 7 32bit very well does not work now.
    I will now try to run ANTIX Linux on these devices.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. erpsterm35

    erpsterm35 MDL Senior Member

    May 27, 2013
    293
    94
    10
    amd athlon xps were released in the early 2000s, around the time the 1st few generation intel pentium 4s came out

    I stopped using socket A based amd cpus early this year because the motherboard for them gave out and had to be replaced. so I have no more socket a based processors to use
     
  13. Carlos Detweiller

    Carlos Detweiller MDL Spinning Tortoise

    Dec 21, 2012
    2,568
    2,236
    90
    Mine refuse to die.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. pf100

    pf100 MDL Expert

    Oct 22, 2010
    1,162
    1,560
    60
    #19 pf100, Oct 17, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 18, 2018
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. atgpud2003

    atgpud2003 MDL Member

    Apr 30, 2015
    235
    29
    10
    Well, Kinda old, try Windows XP Pro.. Would be ok... But lot of updates won't give good go... Try Linux..