Windows 7 asks for drivers

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by fixitdaz, Nov 25, 2010.

  1. fixitdaz

    fixitdaz MDL Novice

    Nov 15, 2010
    13
    2
    0
    Hi has any one used the the iso from The Official Windows 7 Repository and had a problem installing this windows 7 iso, I install it on my vm player no problems but after burning to dvd and doing a fresh install it asks for drivers, I have tried to use driver pack with it with no joy has this iso got drivers on it, do I need to install something before I boot of win 7 dvd.
     
  2. exo-dan

    exo-dan MDL Senior Member

    Aug 22, 2009
    258
    297
    10
    to answer your question,yes I have used that iso from The Official Windows 7 Repository & no I have not had a problem installing that windows 7 iso-but then I have been booting from usb for the last 3 years :|
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. fixitdaz

    fixitdaz MDL Novice

    Nov 15, 2010
    13
    2
    0
    I might try sticking it on a usb stick see if that woks. it asks for a driver think for the hdd witch is just you bog standard ide hdd and it will not let me continue with the install, do you have to boot from the usb every time you switch on your pc?
     
  4. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,691
    3,044
    300
    It's not just a case of sticking the file on usb you need to make it bootable and also it should be working from dvd install IF it is ide hard drive.
     
  5. fixitdaz

    fixitdaz MDL Novice

    Nov 15, 2010
    13
    2
    0
    that's what I was thinking,that's why I asked if it had drivers on the iso or if it needed a installer ?
     
  6. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,691
    3,044
    300
    how did you burn the dvd did you open up the iso file with say nero, ultraiso, poweriso e.c.t and then burn the image or did you just add the iso file to dvd and burn it.
     
  7. fixitdaz

    fixitdaz MDL Novice

    Nov 15, 2010
    13
    2
    0
    I Burnt iso to dvd with nero 7
     
  8. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,691
    3,044
    300
    that wont work it wont be bootable you need to run nero and open the iso file then burn dvd, all you did was burn a data dvd with the iso file on it.
     
  9. fixitdaz

    fixitdaz MDL Novice

    Nov 15, 2010
    13
    2
    0
    Ok i will give it a go but it will boot and start installing and about 15mins in to the install it asks for a driver ????

    so if i mount the iso and copy files then put them on to dvd will that work i am a bit lost now
     
  10. Phazor

    Phazor MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,145
    517
    60
    Dont think thats the problem, because if the disk wouldnt boot then the install routine wouldnt even start, hence not ask for drivers.


    My guess is therefore that the DVD lacks the drivers for the boards HDD Controller.

    This could happen if the board is a very exotic make/model.

    Could be a thousand other things too, though, its tough to tell without further details...
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Phazor

    Phazor MDL Expert

    Sep 1, 2009
    1,145
    517
    60
    There we have it...the DVD boots fine.

    This means the disk was burned correctly.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. fixitdaz

    fixitdaz MDL Novice

    Nov 15, 2010
    13
    2
    0
    it is on a compaq evo n1020v i will see if it will install on a desk top
     
  13. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,691
    3,044
    300
    what are the specs of this machine because the basic model is.

     
  14. fixitdaz

    fixitdaz MDL Novice

    Nov 15, 2010
    13
    2
    0
    Computer: Compaq Evo N1020v
    CPU: Intel Mobile Celeron-1500 (Mobile Northwood-256, C1)
    1500 MHz (15.00x100.0) @ 1492 MHz (15.00x99.5)
    Motherboard: Compaq 0818h
    Chipset: ATI IGP-330M/340M/345M/350M (RS200MC/M/MP/MB)/250M/MB) + M1533
    Memory: 1024 MBytes, 2.5-3-3-6
    - 512 MB PC2700 DDR-SDRAM - Apacer Technology
    - 512 MB PC2700 DDR-SDRAM - Apacer Technology
    Graphics: ATI IGP-330M/340M/345M/350M (RS200M(C/B)/250M) Video Adapter [Compaq/HP]
    ATI RS200M/RS250M, 240 MB SDRAM
    Drive: FUJITSU MHT2080AT, 75.5 GB, E-IDE (ATA-6)
    Drive: _NEC DVD+-RW ND-6500A, DVD+R DL
    Drive: MagicISO Virtual DVD-ROM, DVD-ROM
    Sound: ALi/ULi M5451 AC'97 Audio Controller
    Network: 1394 Net Adapter
    Network: IEEE 802.11b MiniPCI Wireless Network Adapter
    Network: VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter
    OS: Microsoft Windows XP Professional Build 2600
     
  15. urie

    urie Moderator
    Staff Member

    May 21, 2007
    8,691
    3,044
    300
    @ fixitdaz, fair enough windows 7 should be ok with those specs. I still don't understand why it is looking for drivers you say IDE all i can suggest is go to compaq site and download the vista or if available windows 7 drivers for your model.
     
  16. fixitdaz

    fixitdaz MDL Novice

    Nov 15, 2010
    13
    2
    0
    Roger that Urie I will Head over there now and have a look why I didn't think of that Thanks
     
  17. fixitdaz

    fixitdaz MDL Novice

    Nov 15, 2010
    13
    2
    0
    no look with drivers from hp i will try is on a desktop pc see if it works on that
     
  18. fixitdaz

    fixitdaz MDL Novice

    Nov 15, 2010
    13
    2
    0
    Thanks all for your help. had no look with getting it to work so I have scraped it, will wait and see if there is any other down loads cheers guys.